The collegiate church of Sant’Egidio Abate is one of the first in the town so much that the first restoration dates back to 1550 and 1585. In those years it had only one nave with two side chapels and in 1588 it was elected as a collegiate by Pope Sixtus V particularly to underline the special role of Tolfa and its mines in the government of the Papal State.
In 1630 the increase in population necessitated an enlargement of the church that was expanded with two other side aisles.
The current facade of marble and earthenware tiles has a marble relief that represents Angels to protect the Eucharist and was completed in the twentieth century.
The interior has three naves with three dedicated chapels and many paintings such as that of Sant’Egidio Abate (behind the high altar), the Saviour, Sant’Isidoro Agricoltore. The gilded bust of Sant’Egidio, protector of the village, is that which is carried in procession during the feast of the patron.
Behind the high altar there is a wooden choir dating from 1815 and two wardrobes that once contained the relics of the saint that were only shown during the official celebrations. While the urn of Santa Cristina martyr, coming from a catacomb in via Ostiense and brought to Tolfa in 1733, is located under the canteen.
The church has a bell tower that dates back to 1547 with five bells, one of which from the sixteenth century has for years marked the life of the village.