In 1675 Filippo Cesarini commited a number works of embellishment of the city and built several fountains including this one, as a result of the restoration of the ancient Roman underground aqueduct.

For this fountain, a Roman sarcophagus was used that has now been replaced by a tank in dark grey peperino (Lava stone) embedded in masonry. The water flows from the face of two bronze lions.

Categories: