Colle di Tora appears perched on a peninsula that juts out into the waters of Lake Turano
Until 1864, the name was Collepiccolo, then mutated to Colle di Tora that recalls THIORA, the Sabine-Roman centre that was right in this area.
There are not many documents on the history and probably it has been inhabited intermittently and only in the Middle Ages to the XII-XIII a village began to form. In 1407 it became part of the fiefdom of the important Brancaleone family and in the second half of the fifteenth century it became property of the Orsini. In 1634 Prince Marcantonio Borghese took over.