This medieval town is located in the hills of Sabina on the border with Umbria and its name derives from the Latin ‘Confinium’, the boundary line.

The village was formed around the castle between the tenth and the eleventh century during the period when the people were seeking shelter and protection from the Barbarian invasions. It was mentioned for the first time in a document from 1027 and was donated to the Abbey of Farfa by Susanna, wife of Otto, Count of Sabina.

It came under the direct rule of the Church, and in 1411 it was granted for a certain period as a fief to the Orsini family and then returned to direct control of the Holy See.