The area was inhabited since the Etruscan period as evidenced by a document from the graves dug in tuff dating back to VII-VI centuries BC. The area was conquered by the Romans in 265 BC and this was colonized and destined for agricultural purposes due to its proximity to the fords and river ports of the Tiber.
In medieval periods the farming settlements were abandoned and the inhabitants took refuge in the hills around the Seppie castle to protect themselves from invasion.
The Goths, the Byzantines, the Lombards all passed through as well as the king of the Franks of Charlemagne who returned Lubriano to the Church under the tutelage of Orvieto.
When Frederick Barbarossa invaded the mighty fortifications were raised. Lubrano had committed to the Church to remain faithful to the town of Orvieto, but did not keep its promises, and from this town the assaults against Orvieto were launched.
After the appointment of Boniface IX, peace was restored within the territories of the Papal States, and Lubrano was placed under control of the Monaldeschi family who forced it to make peace with Orvieto. The Monaldesi maintained the Lubriano Castle until the middle of 1500s when, with the passage of Landsknecht, in 1527, their power began to decline.
At the end of the sixteenth century, Lubriano returned to the possessions of the Apostolic Camera.
Towards the end of the seventeenth century a violent earthquake disrupted the plateau on which the village is located.