Prossedi, in the province of Latina, was founded in the seventh century A.D. Six families of ancient Privernum took refuge on a nearby hill from which they could control the entire Amaseno valley. The first group of Prossedi, that was first called “Castrum” and then “Persei” (from six founding families) is evidenced in the book “La Regia, & ancient Piperno” by Fra Teodoro Valle da Piperno in 1673. It reads that following the destruction of the cities on the plains, its inhabitants were divided forming new centers in the hills: Maenza, Roccagorga, Prossedi, Sonnino and Asprano.
Over the centuries the name “Persei” became “Proxeudi” with reference to the greek verb Proséidon, “look towards” in reference to the strategic position of the country.
The last family to which Prossedi belonged was the Gabrielli family who obtained from Pope Clement XIII the title of Prince.
The medieval nucleus of the area, in the shape of “horseshoe” was formed around the church of St. Nicholas (XIV century) and the primitive castle. The area is surrounded by castle walls in good condition and six defence towers.