The medieval village was founded around the tenth century on a steep rocky spur where the inhabitants of the area had fled to escape the Barbarians. The original name “Podium Donadei” was derived from the name of the alleged founder of the village, a powerful local lord called Donadeo. Another hypothesis is that the name comes from “Donum Dei”, a gift of God, for providing security to the population.
Until Century XIV the village was directly under the Holy See, and then it passed to the baronial family of the Savelli and, from 1633 to Prince Marcantonio Borghese. The presence of elegant buildings inside the town testify to the economic prosperity achieved by the community.