A finely decorated historical residence, the residence of Countess Maria Miconi Paradisi, married to Luogi Montresor, Senator of the Kingdom of Italy at the end of 1900. The palace is now used as a restaurant and B & B. In one of the rooms there is an original 18thcentury coffered ceiling.
Ponte Catano is an ancient single arch stone bridge that is said to be from Roman times. It allowed crossing of the Rio on the old road leading to the Castle and the
The palace is located in the historic centre and was based on the old house of a church whose ruins remain. A curiosity: on the north side you can notice a closed dome from the Napoleonic era when the taxes on the house were paid according to the number of windows! Today it is municipal … Continued
This is an eighteenth-century building in the center of Fontechiari that Don Giovanni Antonio D’Agostino, “physical surgeon” of Casalvieri, in 1743 received as the gift of Rosa Anna Simeone, twenty years younger. Together they gave birth to the Agostini family. The palace is made up of large frescoed vaulted salons, a hanging garden and a … Continued
The cemetery is a circular two-story building and looks like a small fort. Inside there are common trench graves while on the circumference the chapels of the families. The structure is circular as it is inspired by similar constructions made in Paris and Verona, which were subsequently incorporated into refurbishments.
The town wall dates back to before the year 1000 and is equipped with 12 towers, some of which are embedded in the buildings while others are visible and in good condition. In a document of 937, Fontechiari was called “curtis in castello quo dicitur Sclavi”, that is, a fortified community with the name Sclavi.
The 25 meter high tower has a quadrangular base and a tapered plan. It ends with 48 stone brackets that gave solidity to the building and served for fl inging stones from above and create a ‘machin-gun’ effect on besiegers. An impressive stone staircase leads to the fi rst fl oor room where justice was … Continued
The four-storey palace has many frescoed rooms. The highlightis the room of the four seasons created by the painter Sebastiano Gavignano Volpicelli.
The palace was built by the Marquis Traietto of Anagni from 1557 using Vatican workers. It has four floors and the ballrooms are painted with frescoes by the Zuccheri masters. In a salon is a painting of the God Neptune who fell in love and married Anfritide, daughter of Oceano and his sister Teti, who … Continued
It is situated at the highest point of the gavignanese spur, and was built by the Counts of Segni, the family of papa Innocenzo III who was born here and named Lothario, in 1160. It is a true castle-residence of square form. But, the palace was originally the Castrum Gabiniani of the Conti family, who … Continued
The square outside the church of St. Felix is dominated by the tower known as del Cassero (the Keep) built in the eleventh century. The tower is part of the remains of an ancient medieval castle.
According to some legends, the name may derive from the evolution of Cantalice ‘catà and ilex’ (at the holm oak), in connection with an event considered miraculous. A small holm grew suddenly in the cracks of a rock behind the sacristy inside the church of Santa Maria delle Grazie. This rock was considered so miraculous … Continued
At the centre of the village is Palazzo Ramacogi and, bevelled on the entrance door, you may notice the coat of arms depicting a sort of shield with a rose in its top. The façade is characterized by a sixteenth-century loggia with five arches. According to some scholars, the palace was restored by Vignola.
The monument became famous for an explosion that took place in 1968. One of the war remnants used for the monument was still loaded and exploded, causing 4 deaths and 17 injuries.
Walking around the old town you can see two circular bastions that once belonged to the city walls. On one of these, the belvedere has included the famous ‘Mamma Ciociara’ statue.
The tower is located in the ancient centre of Castro and takes its name from the unique 6 hour clock that features on its facade. This building once was the public bread oven where every family could go to bake their own bread. Today it hosts the permanent exhibition dedicated to Nino Manfredi and a … Continued
This door probably got its name for being a ‘secondary gateway’ to the village of Castro dei Volsci. Its peculiarity is in the particular shape that blends into the charm of the old town.
It is the door facing the valley and takes its name from this location. It was one of the entrances to the castle and the areas are recognized for the gate and the garrison of the military post. Today it is one of the most charming corners of the historic centre.
Castro dei Vosci is one of the ‘most beautiful villages in Italy’ for the peculiarities of its historic centre that still retains the charm of the traditional small Italian centres. Old buildings and views with incredible panorama combine to create a unique environment enriched by spring time floral competitions among the locals.
The route from Piazza XXV Luglio to Piazza Camillo Mancini (or Piazza Castello) passes through Porta Castello (Castle Door). Near this door is an ancient tower of irregular plan, which has become a private home for centuries. A few dozen meters away you can see the only remaining circular turrets of the ancient Ceccano wall.
Casa Palaziata is an elegant palace built in 1736 by Domenico Gizzi, one of the most renowned “castrated” singers who mounted the stages of the Italian theatres of the 1700s and worked alongside Farinelli. Worth noting are the impressive limestone portal of the palace with the carved family coat of arms and inside the vaults, … Continued
The stately building is located in the area of La Forma. This was the favourite home of Maestro Manlio Steccanella who wrote “The Scalambra’s Hymn” with which the two local bands open concerts in the town. The Verzetti family created the foundation from which the Serrone kindergarten was founded, which has now become the Theatrical … Continued
Arriving at Cave along Via Francigena, at Sant’Anatolia church you cross a small cobbled bridge and find some ruins. Among these one can recognize one of the medieval gates of the village of Cave.
Facing the collegiate church is one of the old gates of access to the medieval centre of Cave, the oldest area where the defence fortress was. You can access the gate via a ramp that lets you see how the medieval citadel was very different from the present one. The gate now has a stately look with a Renaissance-style … Continued
The convent is next to the church of Santo Stefano and is one of the most original buildings of Cave with its simple baroque style. The spaces inside have all been modernized to accommodate the offices of the municipal administration in order to integrate perfectly past and present. The level of the foundations underneath hosts … Continued
One of the first buildings to be found when entering Cave from the Fiuggi side is the old railway station which is now the seat of the Municipal Police. An attentive look recognizes the places where the railway line was and some cast iron pylons carried the electrical wires of the train. Next to the station there … Continued
The new bridge was built in 1904 and was one of the most impressive concrete structures. It was so called to distinguish it from the ‘Ponte Vecchio’ a few hundred metres away. It was built to be crossed by the railroad and road, and was a high-tech structure for those times being able to withstand … Continued
The bridge dates back to the end of the 18th century and was an imposing masonry structure overlooking the historic centre. It had been designed to span the wide valley and the Rio river, a seasonal stream that at this point could be particularly violent given the size of the pillars. The connection made it possible … Continued
Thanks to the railway station along the Roma-Fiuggi line, in the early twentieth century Cave became a residence for many Roman bourgeoisie who built prestigious villas. The buildings were built according to the style of the era and you can admire interesting examples of liberty (or floral) houses. Many architects and artists committed themselves to realization … Continued
This palace was built in the 12th century in the area known today as Via Piè di Palazzo. Of the stronghold with a watchtower from that period, only traces of spurs and buttresses remain. The tower enabled the valley to be controlled and had the function of “Keep” of Cave Castle. The castle was commissioned … Continued
Leoncelli Palace dates back to the end of the 14th century and features the coat of arms of the Leoncelli family, two rampant lions, on the front door. It was a place of historical importance when the Cave Peace Treaty was signed on September 13 and 14, 1557, marking the end of a bloody campaign … Continued
The building is very special for its elongated shape so as to make it seem ‘two-dimensional’. It is close to what was the old railway station, so in a strategic position in the centre of the town. That’s why on the ground floor was the famous Bar of Signora Vincenzi, a stop for all those who came … Continued
The two-storey villa with basement has simple shapes enriched by elaborate frames around the windows and a sinuous staircase to the oval shaped first floor. The staircase ends with a small loggia overlooking the balcony. Of great value is the floral decoration of the wooden attic.
The villa was built before 1920 by an artisan skilled in wood craft and it has many decorations in a neo-gothic style. The villa is made of uncovered squared tuff stones decorated with brick red bricks that make the course between floors and the frame. The balconies have engraved wood balustrades and the sloping part of the roof is … Continued
This villa has a particular style with Arabic influences due to the history of those who built it, Father Paolo Mattei was a priest and chaplain of war. He had been in the First World War and had stayed for a long time in Libya. All windows are decorated with a particular rounded crenelation that contrasts with the … Continued
The villa where Monsignor Antonino Pinci stayed for a certain period was built on different levels and is remembered by his coat of arms. Originally the villa was surrounded by a park that let you glimpse the decor of the façade. The towers are framed by decoration of stone bossage, the balconies are rounded with railings recalling floral … Continued
Near the border between Fumone and Ferentino were discovered the remains of a rather extensive rustic villa from the second century BC. The villa is reachable along an ancient track that runs along the slopes of Mount Maino to head and cross the “Carceri” area and then go to Anagni. The name “Carceri” seems to … Continued
They are the remains of a sighting tower located in the “Montelungo” site of which the four sides are standing and in which the loopholes for shooting arrows stand out. Inside, you can still see the attachment to the fallen ceiling. The ruin is in a favorable position to have controlled the territory and perhaps … Continued
It is one of the most characteristic alleys of Fumone where you can still see the city walls built onto the rock. In the alley, before going back to Via Umberto I, you can admire the remains of a medieval kitchen suspended in mid-air resulting from a collapse. (Elisa Potenziani)
Throughout the outer walls are often found bases of towers with arrow openings or towers which are still at full height, but they never exceed the level of the most recent homes built on the base of the circuit of walls. They remained almost intact in the Torricelle area, towards Alatri, which also corresponds to … Continued
Neapolitan Door (or ‘posterula’ – secondary door, from which comes the current denomination of “portella” – possibly ‘escape hatch’), faces Naples and is flanked by a large circular tower. It was actually a security exit that kept its original design until 1831, when it was demolished the procession with the cross and the canopy of … Continued
The Porta Romana gate faces Rome and is protected from the outside by a square tower. In the past, it was the only access to the fortress and it was probably equipped with a drawbridge (which seems to be remembered in the nearby Ponte del Ponte), iron railing, double gates and caditoia drains. Stone and … Continued
The most important building of Fumone was the fortress that today corresponds to the famous Castle. The first official document attesting to its existence dates back to 962 DC when the emperor of Germany, Saxon Ottone I of Saxony, donated to Pope John XII through the Privilegium Othonis, the Fumone fort with the cities of … Continued
This monument was realised right at the entrance of the village. It includes an engraved marble plinth and two artillery guns. Sunset over the column is very impressive with the background of the valley and it recalls the role of mountainous towns in wars throughout the past centuries.
In the lower part of the village, in one of the intersections from which the streets emanate to the village, this fountain was created that resembles the magical number of Trivigliano, the Three. Next to the Fountain there was an octagonal marble stele bearing the names of the cities of the ancient League of Ernica. … Continued
Many of the town’s buildings have been made using remains of Roman buildings and scattered among the walls of the houses you can find column capitals, parts of Roman beams and inscriptions.
The old town is very small and bunched together and is in a good state of conservation because its shape does not allow the passing of the cars inside, so it is a small paradise for peace and quiet. It preserves a medieval appearance in the alleys and in the layout of the houses.
By the urban shape of the city, concentric rings with narrow streets that departing from the top, it is concluded that this must be one of the entrances to the castle. Even the raised entrance supports this hypothesis.
The circular tower still stands in the upper part of the town. It was a sighting tower that was part of the defensive complex of the medieval hamlet. There were two more along the perimeter of the walls, but today there is only one annex to the complex of the so-called Trivigliano Castle, currently owned … Continued
The eighteenth century palace is located in the medieval part of the village and has its name for the Culla family. The beautiful neoclassical façade distinguishes itself from the rest of the village for its majesty. It houses the Operetta Museu, the Puppet Theatres and Puppet Collection.
The Teofilatto Castle, or Torre Cajetani Castle, stands on a rocky hillside overlooking an extensive valley up to Lake Canterno. Its construction dates back to Roman times, when it was a fortified place to protect the ancient hamlet. It hosted important historical figures such as St. Benedict on his journey of 529 to Montecassino. The … Continued
Today the traces of the past come to life through the same symbol of the town, the Castle, a tangible sign of historical continuity, a living witness of the Middle Ages and the period of the greatest splendour of this village, whose heart, with winding lanes and ancient churches that have welcomed precious paintings, confirms … Continued
At the entrance of the village is the monument to the fallen of the First World War. The marble statue of the soldier looks like a silent guard for the Anticolana Valley and Lake Canterno.
Torre Cajetani is one of the few towns to have important testimonies of the fascist period. Not only in the mysterious head painted on a wall but in a series of residential houses still in excellent condition. Each of the 9 buildings is of 2 levels. They are of the classical 30s design built just … Continued
Of the original palace there is only the facade, everything else has been destroyed in the bombing of WW2. The Saulini family was one of the most important and has given birth to a famous goldsmith and engraver of the last century.
The villa is located at the highest point of the village and was probably part of the medieval castle. Because of its incredible position, during the war, it was the seat of the German command. From its terrace you have a 360 degree view over over 50 towns.
The door represents the entrance to the village on the ‘facing Rome’ and it opens on the oldest and highest part of Bellegra. It was connected to the nearby castle. In the 1950’s, a reservoir (water tank) for water distribution was constructed in the town next to the door in the shape of a modern … Continued
In an old town house the corner stones reveal interesting medieval inscriptions. They are sculpted with hunting scenes, everyday life, and other symbols that are also found in the church of Our Lady of Grace.
The ruins of the Settefrati Castle are still recognised by a medieval tower rising to the highest point of the town. From the layout of the houses, which were ringed around the tower, it is understood that this was the point of defence and was part of a lookout system that protected the Val Comino. … Continued
In the square of the church of Santa Maria delle Grazie one can recognize a house ‘not aligned’ with the others that arose from the rivalry of two local families. The construction only served to cover the view of the church by the enemy family.
The palace is of medieval origin and was enriched in the fifteenth century, the beginning of the Renaissance, with a decorated door and quadrilobate (four lobes) windows. The palace is in front of the Collegiate Church of St. Peter and housed the members of the church college.
The building now housing the school was part of the famous Grand Hotel Girani which also included the current theatre. The complex dates back to 1910 and was designed by Giovan Battista Giovenale, in a style appealing to both classicism and baroque. It was one of the first technologically innovative constructions that used reinforced concrete.
Next to the church of St Peter is a medieval building that was the ancient seat of the town of Fiuggi. The façade shows the signs of the original entrance door surmounted by a worked six-sided bezel. In the façade you can admire some elegant mullioned windows.
In the large square of the castle was the entrance of the palace where the governor resided who had been appointed by the Colonna family, the family to which the pope had entrusted Fiuggi from the sixteenth century. The Renaissance style with bosses and the imposing forms were the symbols of the feudal power.
Palazzo Falconi is a noble classical palace with a stately portal with its two columns supporting a small balcony. The building was constructed in 1700 by the Falconi family. Inside on the first floor there is a large fully frescoed salon and a room adjacent withthe painting of Napoleon’s shadow by the painter Mastro Ubaldo from … Continued
The villa of the Senate family of Breda was built in the early twentieth century with a floral style, that of Italian liberty period, and is one of the first noble family buildings that were built for spending the holidays at Fiuggi. The cottage of the villa hosts nuns today.
The square was originally called Olmo square after the name of the door giving one of the entrances to the village. A careful eye can still recognize the remains of towers and the original walls of the castle in the buildings. Outside the door was a small pond and the area was destined for the … Continued
The bronze monument was created by the sculptor Duilio Cambellotti in 1926 and represents the drama of the fallen of the First World War.
The monument consists of a chapel surmounted by a stunning stele of about 30 meters on one of the highest spots in Fiuggi, Colle Michelangelo, from which you can enjoy a wide view. On the stele stands the statue of the Madonna realized in 1926 by the sculptor Iorio Vivarelli.
The statue is a work by Thomas Gismondi and represents San Biagio, an Armenian martyr who died in 316 during the persecution ordered by Emperor Licinius. San Biagio had saved a child by pulling out a plug that had been stuck in his throat and for this he became the protector of sore throat. … Continued
The history of the building begins when businessman Marco Besso, an important manager of Assicurazioni Generali in Venice, and his wife gather in Trieste some Jewish entrepreneurs and put together a network for its construction. The palace was inaugurated in 1913 with fanfare, flight of airplanes and in the presence of Queen Margherita. It was … Continued
Near Vico del Lazio the border between the Pontifical State and the Kingdom of the two Sicilies crosses and on the paths and in the fields there are 11 boundary markers. Many of these markers were put there in 1851 during a ‘war’ among the shepherds who argued for the best fields for their animals.
Vico nel Lazio, perched at 721 meters high on a limestone relief covered with olive trees at the foot of Mount Monna, is a rare and typical example of a medieval village in southern Lazio. A cobblestoned street that crosses into an exclusive labyrinth with appealing portals with stone jambs and lintels and a mighty … Continued
The village was born on a small hill and preserves all its characteristic beauty as it looks like a traditional medieval centre surrounded by walls and towers. Access to the town is still via the gates and the presence of cars is virtually non-existent. Inside the walls are also the two main churches, Santa Maria … Continued
The palace dates back to 1150 and was built by a person of wealth because it had an Altana, a viewing tower that denoted a ‘high-grade’ family. The building incorporates a particular triangular tower with an eccentric sharp angle. It is surely one of the most important buildings as a witness of the past of … Continued
The building is located next to Porta Monte and was integrated with the walls. Guardiola (Barracks) was an element constructed with the intent to protect and make the conquest of the access door to the castrum more difficult. The outcome is a rectangular plan with a gabled roof.
The fountain near the church of San Michele dates back to 1889 and is the work of Gaetano Zaccardi of Frosinone. It was built over a former ‘bottino’, a Roman cistern that brought water to the village and that was part of the ancient Roman aqueduct connecting Guarcino and Alatri.
At Vico there are at least two mills dating back to the Middle Ages. They still retain the original equipment and are connected to a grinder that was rotated using animals.
This fountain outside the wall was built with a former Roman cistern that was part of the aqueduct connecting Guarcino with Alatri, connecting the springs in the Ernici mountains with the downstream river. During the Middle Ages it was restored around the XI century and was donated by the Trisulti Carthusian monks to the population of … Continued
The cemetery of Sgurgola is located close to the ancient thirteenth century abbey and was built when, with the Napoleonic laws, it became illegal to bury the dead in chambers under the churches. At the entrance of the cemetery there is a monument dedicated to fallen soldiers of the First World War, an interesting marble … Continued
The ducal castle of Isola del Liri, or Boncompagni – Viscogliosi Castle is a fortified palace in the historical centre just where the Liri River separates into two parts. It is a national monument. The fortified centre is of high-medieval origin and was built incorporating an original to a defence tower on the Sora plain. … Continued
The villa was built in the nineteenth century by Carlo Lefebvre when he took over the paper mill and came to live in Isola del Liri. Carlo was a French financier and industrialist who had arrived in Italy following Napoleon Buonaparte during the Italian Campaign and was in charge of tax collection. As a result … Continued
The tower is located on the hill of San Sebastiano and was built to defend itself against the frequent incursions of the Saracens that, at the end of the 9th century, had settled in the mouths of the Liri, today Garigliano. The Saracens moved to the hinterland of the Alta Terra del Lavoro province, reaching … Continued
The Courrier paper mill was founded on the isle of Isola del Liri, downstream of the large Waterfall, and represents a wonderful example of a partnership between productive and residential activities. At the end of its construction, the building complex was surrounded by the river and connected to the mainland with a beautiful example of … Continued
The palace is located along the main street near the lower waterfall and was the home of the owners of the woollen mill.
The castle was built in 1054 by the two counts of the Marsi, Oderisio Rainaldo II and III, and is passed through different families: the Counts of Aquino, the Cantelmos and finally Gallio, who kept it until the extinction of their house (1806). It dominates the Val Comino and the Romana Valley crossed by the … Continued
In the Middle Ages it was customary to build hospitals for the sick with care centers for the poor and pilgrims. They were furnished places with beds where the sick could be laid while a part of the building was always devoted to prayer and furnished with an altar and sacred images. In Guarcino the … Continued
The palace dates back to the nineteenth century and has the classic look of a villa / palace with garden and frescoed interior halls. In the garden you can see the symbol of the family in wrought iron. There is an anecdote about the building of the palace that represents the spirit of Guarcino as … Continued
The building began as Casino Stazi in the nineteenth century and there is a room decorated by the Polish painter Thaddeus Kuntze depicting events from ancient Ariccia. Antonio Martorelli bought the building in 1814 and turned it into an inn that became a milestone in the Grand Tour d’Italie. It has been visited by internationally … Continued
The Palazzo Chigi in Ariccia represents a unique example of baroque residence that has remained intact over the centuries, documenting the prestige of one of the greatest Italian Papal dynasties: the Chigi. The palace, transformed into a magnificent baroque residence by Gian Lorenzo Bernini, is a museum and a center of many cultural activities: exhibitions, … Continued
The original Iacabelli palace is on the left side of the church of San Giovanni and was commenced in the sixteenth century and then completed in the 18th century. Its sober style is characterized by an irregular plan and three levels separated by Marcapiano cornices.
The gate dates from the thirteenth century and is set in Muraria walls. On either side there are towers, the defence tower and the Great Tower, now used as a dwelling.
The castle was probably built around the ninth or the tenth century by the Counts of Tusculum. In the fifteenth century it was acquired by the Savelli who in 1473 it exchanged with the Abbey of San Nilo for Ariccia fiefdom. At the beginning of the sixteenth century the castle appeared deserted and remained so … Continued
The villa is named after the first owner, the Cardinal Arrigoni who bought it in 1579 and it is part of one of the 12 Tuscolane villas. Like many other villas in the area, it is built on the ruins of a former Roman villa, which today adorn the English garden. Inside are preserved numerous … Continued
In the sixteenth century this villa was a country casino family Laghi. In 1614 it was bought by the Marquis Lorenzo Gavotti who enlarged the building and developed the estate. In 1815 the then owner Onelli committed suicide after losing everything with the fall of Napoleon and the consequent collapse of share value. Today it … Continued
The palace is located in the centre of Grottaferrata and dates back to 1741. It was built by the Passerini family that hosted Pope Benedict XIV. In 1872 the palace passed to the Santovetti family that funded expansions by architect Enrico Celso Donnini. Inside the palace is a remarkable chapel, frescoed by Sylvester Capparoni, that … Continued
The villa was built in 1580 by Cardinal Carafa, and after several changes of ownership, arrived to the Grazioli family. During the Second World War it has been occupied by the displaced population after the bombing of Frascati and is now a hotel. Inside was frescoed between the end of 1500 and the first half … Continued
This gate, also called Porta a Levante, connects with Abruzzo, through the pass of Forca d’Acero, and led to the “Bar”, the ancient “customs” point before entering the residential complex. The pointed arch is typical of the Late Gothic and comes from the influence of Cantelmos who at that time ruled these lands. This gate … Continued
‘Arco delle Origini’ is one of the most picturesque alleyways of the entire old town and is covered by wooden beams. Along the walls there are the pictures dedicated to the foundation of the village. A triptych, painted on wood by local artist Luciano Tocci, illustrates the early medieval origins: from primitive “ecclesia”, the possession … Continued
The Gate Clock or Greek Gate, dates back to 1200s and its role was to defend the town. In the Middle Ages the houses began to be built along the existing walls. In this way, they had to make another larger city wall. The village does not have true defensive walls, but the full usage … Continued
The square tower of 5.40 meters, is 12 meters high and is located at the highest point of the village on a rocky outcrop. From its summit, you can enjoy a view of much of the Comino Valley and the surrounding territory. There is no access to the ground floor and you see only the … Continued
This peak is known since the Volsci and the Romans built a first castle, ‘Marx sorana’ mentioned by Tito Livio, parts of which are located in the basement of the current one. During the Middle Ages it was restored by Frederick II and Charles of Anjou. The medieval castle was destroyed in 1229 and rebuilt … Continued
The walls date from the period of the Volsci, around the fourth century BC, and surrounded the acropolis of Mount San Casto and Cassio, located in a strategic position between the Abruzzo (Avezzano) and the Liri Valley.
Built around 1927 on a plan by the engineer, Luigi Rodolfi, it has a style that recalls the buildings of 1200s. The portico comprises three round arches. Inside the council room is a large wall painting by the local artist Alfredo Tosti depicting “Boniface VIII (perhaps in Anagni) on the throne, surrounded by the papal court, receiving a … Continued
The source dating from the early twentieth century is built in Art Nouveau style, of which only the entrance portal remains. In fact, in the 1960s the building was completely renovated. Its name is that of the pope who, along with the great Michelangelo, was a great frequenter of the therapeutic waters. The water can … Continued
The Palace was built on a Roman building, itself built over the megalithic walls, and was remodelled over the centuries. In the second half of the nineteenth century it received a new strictly neo-classical decoration or better described as “Pompeian”. Inside it one finds unusual paintings, frescoed rooms with pagan subjects of enigmatic character, and … Continued
The historic center of Ferentino is enclosed within Cyclopean walls, on account of the size of the boulders, that date back to the sixth century BC. In medieval times the walls were reinforced with towers made of irregular stones. The building circuit winds around for 2.4 Km with 12 gates and its origin is attributed … Continued
The market is a building of the first century BC with the random work pavement connected to the Acropolis wall covering. The large entrance arch, which occupies an entire wall, and gives light to the whole environment, is high about 8 meters high and is constructed so as to allow the sunlight to penetrate from … Continued
The Acropolis is a vast area of quadrilateral shape (140 x 95 meters) whose slopes are fortified and shaped by imposing masonry. The wall is built with two different techniques: a base in large blocks of limestone with directly overlying walls of travertine. This dates the structure back to two different eras – a very … Continued
The Medieval Castle was built around 1103, probably on existing structures, by the Norman Cavaliere William of Glossavilla (Bloseville), which protected the population with a fortress surrounded by walls. Roccaguglielma with con Pico, San Giovanni Incarico, Campello and Rivomatrice formed a sort of independent state, called the “Five Castles de Foris”, because they were excluded … Continued
The Baronial Palace Spinelli was built in 1470 when Roccaguglielma was ruled by the powerful family of Spinelli. Over the years it was used as a prison, the trial court and the tobacco factory and is now a municipal property managed by the Natural Park of Aurunci Mountains and is home to the Museum of … Continued
The Fountain of the Four Putti or Fawns was made in 1891 by sculptor Ernesto Biondi and is located in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele at the entrance to the village. The fountain, which has been restored recently, represents a group of winged cherubs in bronze arranged in the central part of the fountain and having different … Continued
In the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele is the town hall. It was owned by the important family of Rosetti which were involved in both the political and religious activities of Montelanico. In 1922 it was purchased by the public administration and after several modifications commenced use as the Town Hall.
The palace was built between 1879 and 1884 and has a typical austere form of the Nineteenth Century palaces. It was the seat of the “Apostolic School of Venerable Castles” of the Barnabiti Fathers and is now open to the public for exhibitions and events. In the celebration room you can admire the beautiful fresco … Continued
The palace has an elegant seventeenth century form with a fine front door. Inside there are original decorations of 1600s and frescoes attributed to the Cavalier d’Arpino family. The real name of the Cavalier d’Arpino was Giuseppe Cesari, born in 1568 in this city and he became an important painter in the service of the … Continued
The fountain dates back to the seventeenth century and is located between the two roads leading to Civita Falconara. On a marble bath carved in a baroque manner stand two square towers. The eagle spreads its wings resting a leg on each tower. This portrays the emblem of Arpino.
The Acropolis area is also called Civitavecchia and probably dates from the seventh century BC. According to legend it was founded by the God Saturn, along with other cities of southern Lazio and the acropolis is surrounded by large and imposing walls. These walls were made of large rocks with an irregular shape that perfectly … Continued
The castle dates back to the fourteenth century and is named after the King of Naples, Ladislao I (1376-1414) of the Angevin dynasty, which for a time established his court there. After several desertions, destructions and reconstructions, it become one of the largest woollen mills of Arpino between the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, owned by … Continued
The palace is located near the main gate and dates from 1807 as the court with the prison in the basement areas. It was commissioned to the architect Francesco Rust by Prince Pietro Gabrielli. The building has an irregular shape to fit into the medieval fabric and has five different facades with windows that give … Continued
Near the entrance of the village, along the old Marittima road is the monumental Fountain of the Popes commissioned in 1727 by the marchese Livio De Carolis, a nobleman originally from Pofi who governed the town for 20 years. His family had made a fortune with the exclusive right to collect taxes on milled grain … Continued
The main port of entry to the historic centre is enriched by a big public clock. The door style was changed by the Gabrielli princes who realised a bossage stone arch frame and a doorway decorated with stucco pilasters supporting the elevated section with the clock. On the door is written S.P.Q.P. (Senatus Populusque Prossedi). The clock was … Continued
The palace has a rectangular plan with four massive corner towers, dominating the centre of Prossedi but of its history there is little information. The structure goes back to the sixteenth century and and was later expanded by Gabrielli in Baroque-Rococo style in the vogue of the eighteenth century. The building is accessed through elegant … Continued
The remains of the medieval fortress are represented by the fourteenth-century tower and located in the centre of the old town. The fortress was built by Abbot Tommaso da Celano and had the classic form of medieval castles: four towers connected by high walls, with an entrance with guards and the ‘Big Tower’ at the … Continued
Walking through Lazio Cerreto you can clearly distinguish the structure of the original fort that was the administrative and social centre of the town. The castle over the centuries has been transformed into a house but the original form is clearly visible. To lead to the entrance in the courtyard where the tower is found, … Continued
Like many cities of Lazio, Cerreto was surrounded by polygonal walls dating back to VII-IV century BC and some parts are still visible, such as the section of 40 meters near the spring. To validate dating of these walls in Cerreto, numerous tombs there have been found with gigantic bones.
The square in front of the old wash house, where women went to wash clothes, has been transformed into a centre for hosting outdoor musical events. This corner of the town is evocative of the heart of the city.
The coat of arms of the city of Sutri: the God Saturn on horseback with three ears in the right hand can be seen in numerous reproductions from various eras in different places of the city.
The Roman amphitheatre was completely dug into tufa rock between the second and first century BC. It was forgotten and covered with soil for many centuries, until 1935 when the local population brought it to light. It has an elliptical shape with three rows of bleachers and could accommodate over 9000 people. As with the … Continued
Sutri was the last leg of the Via Francigena before Rome and the name of the gate is probably due to this. This gateway to the medieval part of the town was crossed by thousands of pilgrims. In the gateway you can read three historical periods: the Etruscan walls, Roman forts and the ramparts of … Continued
Tower of Arraggiati is the last remnant of the ancient monastery of St. Paul and the ancient medieval town, which was set on fire in 1433 by Niccolò Fortebraccio. The village was later permanently deleted by a flood in 1493.
The majestic villa with park date back to the eighteenth century and were built by the Marquis Muti-Papazzurri. When in late 1700 the family died out, the villa was inherited by the Savorelli Conti, hence the name, and then was purchased by the City of Sutri. The villa has a Renaissance style and an Italian … Continued
The white stone building was founded in the sixteenth century by the transformation of the original castle around which was formed the village of Capranica Prenestina. The palace was built in two stages by Giuliano II Capranica and Angelo Capranica. They first built a simple house so that it could be transformed into an elegant … Continued
This building was the home of the famous knight Giovanni Brancaleone, one of the thirteen victorious champions of the “Challenge of Barletta” that was fought between Italian and French knights. The elegant building has a loggia on the alley and a beautiful entrance portal with travertine with an ornate frame of dragons with open wings … Continued
Porta Romana is the town gate as you come from Rome through the lower part of town, over which is the crest of Genazzano in red brick and a circular bulwark escarpment with loopholes on its right side. Next to this medieval gate is a great defence tower enclosing the entire area of the old … Continued
The Nymphaeum is one of the symbols of Genazzano and was created at the beginning of the sixteenth century by the Colonna family while structuring a garden in the valley of the Soglia downstream, along the road that led to Paliano. This was the period of realization of grand gardens in many palaces, including the … Continued
According to tradition this is the birthplace of papa Martino V Colonna and is a stately building in the city centre. It has a style that appears Aragonese gothic and that recalls that of the Kingdom of Naples with which the Colonna had strong ties. The building has four floors and the simplicity of the … Continued
The castle is located in the upper part of the town and is the nucleus around which was formed the medieval village. Since 1053 its history is linked to that of the Colonna family, and in 1200s it became an impregnable defensive fortress. Here was born Oddone Colonna, who became pope under the name of … Continued
The ‘Mansio to Vacanas’ is a roman post station (mansio) along the Via Cassia built in the first century AD. It was composed of an area for rest for the traveller (spas and shops), an area where he can rest his horses (stables and repacements), an area used for public activities (barracks of the soldiers, … Continued
At the centre of Campagnano Romano you can admire the spectacular Fountain of the Dolphins, in unmistakable Baroque style. The fountain is attributed to Vignola and takes its name from the travertine sculpture of two dolphins at the base of a pedestal with a large bell in lava stone.
The social and cultural centre of life in the countryside is located in Palazzo Venturi, purchased by the city in the early 1980s and today houses the Cultural Polo which includes the Archaeological Museum, the Historical Archives, the Municipal Library and the conference room. Next to the Palace begins Venturi Municipal Park with an exceptional … Continued
The palace dates from the late fifteenth century when the rooms were built next to the tower and onto the loggia. The portico of the palace was the meeting place for popular assemblies, the market and the social centre of the town. The building was then remodelled over the centuries. Inside the palace there is … Continued
The villa was built in the seventeenth century by the transformation of a castle near the river Sacco, located in a strategic place, on a tuff crag, cut to make it more difficult to cross the river. Around the castle the tufa it was cut to create a moat. The castle is accessed by a … Continued
The impressive palace of Spezza, a family from Spain (original surname “De Speza”), is still owned by the family. It is located in the highest part of the old town and is surrounded by a beautiful garden, with sculptures, stone mythological masks, and a large terrace. The building dates from 1500 when it was built … Continued
The remains of the small Poggio Forte are found in an area near Gerano. You can still see the foundations of the houses and places of common burial of a fort destroyed in 1128 by Peter IV. Not far away was Tellarum Vico, the first village of Gerano to where in the sixth century the … Continued
It is a Roman fountain dating from the second century AD and takes its name from an ancient family of Roman nobles, Cioci, which here had their own villa.
The building dates back to the fourteenth century and was the place of the local court which used to collect taxes while in the square in front of the building were held municipal auctions with a classic ceremony of the lighting of the candle. The building has a cloister with a well.
The sundial is located on a turret arch linking the Church of St. Nicholas and a palace. It is unique and has the distinction of being deprived of the meridian line of local 12th hour. It offers measurement of the average time on the South side and the time of ringing of Ave Maria on … Continued
Outside of the original city walls you can still recognize the ancient lookout and signalling towers.
The bronze statue is dedicated to Bonetto Floridi, a consul and Guarcino Crusader who participated in the Eighth Crusade and was the captain of the Guarcinesi militia in the last war between Guarcino and Anticoli in Campagna, today Fiuggi. It is located in Piazza Umberto I and was realised in 1986 by Master Angelo Canevari.
The bronze statue commemorates the 800th anniversary of the heroic event called ‘Challenge of Malpensa’. It is located in Piazza Umberto I and was built in 1986 by Master sculptor, Angelo Canevari.
The building dates back to 1300 and belonged to Cardinal Giacomo Tomassi, a cousin of Boniface VIII. It is located near the old city wall and is recognized because it is supported by a large Gothic arch that spans the street. This structure was necessary to allow for the expansion of the palace across the … Continued
This is the palace where Emilia Conti was born who was the mother of Papa Bonifacio VIII famous for the battles with France, for the ‘Slap of Anagni’ and the establishment of the first Jubilee in history. After his papacy the seat of the popes moved to Avignon in France. The palace belonged to the … Continued
The palace, built on a steep slope, appears with the curious shape of a boat with the bow heading towards the Mario Theodoli corso along which it overtakes the arched loggia. The palace has this complex structure as a result of the numerous extensions that have occurred since the end of the thirteenth century. Tradition … Continued
This palace was built by the family Pecci of Carpineto, owner of several rustic properties in the territory of Maenza. In the late eighteenth Ludovico Pecci, father of Leo XIII, was also the owner of the baronial castle. Today it is part of the town library and partly private. Compared to the original architecture it … Continued
Porta Maggiore, as its name portends, is the gateway to the old town. The village is made up of various gates and doors that were intended to defend the population and block the entry to the enemy in case of attack
The square is the old parade ground and is located opposite the castle. In this square the Maenza Baron was beheaded in 1123 under Pope Callistus II. The Baron was accused of killing a representative of the Pope who arrived in the country to collect the taxes.
The indoor square is of medieval origin and is located near Porta Maggiore, one of the entrances to the medieval town of Maenza. Tradition has it that the Loggia dei Mercanti (Loggia of the Merchants) had been built for all those people who come to Maenza late in the evening and were unable to enter … Continued
The baronial castle of Maenza originated as a watchtower around 1100-1200 and assumed its present appearance in 1500 by the will of Bernard I, one of the Ceccano Counts, who chose it as a residence. The central body, rectangular in plan, was expanded with the addition of two reinforcing towers and with the enlargement of … Continued
The palace was built in the sixteenth century by the family Angeletti uniting medieval buildings in the vicinity of the walls. In the halls of the palace famous people were hosted such as Blessed Antonio Baldinucci, Cardinal Ganganelli (the future Pope Clement XIV) and St. Paul of the Cross. In the nineteenth century, the palace … Continued
The monument is located on the highest point of Piazza XXV July and and has been erected in memory of the fallen of the First World War. The work is composed of a rectangular shaped fountain and the bronze statues of two soldiers, placed at the sides of a column. On the highest point of … Continued
Castel Sindici was built in 1800 at the behest of the oenologist and Cavaliere del Lavoro, Stanislaus Sindici. The project was completed by Count Giuseppe Sacconi, the architect who designed the Altare della Patria in Rome. The castle was built with local limestone in the model of a fortress and was built in the middle … Continued
The current castle is the result of several changes that have occurred over the centuries. The building originates in a position chosen in the VIII century on the site of the ancient acropolis tower. In the Middle Ages the castle took on great importance, becoming the center of the county of the Counts de Ceccano, … Continued
The fountain is located in the main square and was built by the architect Giuseppe Olivieri in 1877 on the occasion of the arrival of the aqueduct in Priverno. The name comes from a sculpture where you see dolphins which support the putti that in turn support a cistern in which the water comes. The … Continued
The original village of Priverno in the Middle Ages was surrounded by large stone walls, to defend themselves from enemy attacks, and it was accessed through seven gates. In the early 1900s the gates were destroyed for ‘greater air circulation’ and today remain only the Arco di Porta San Marco or Porta Romana and the … Continued
The Palace is located in the main square right in front of the Cathedral and dates from the thirteenth century and was built by the Valeriani brothers: one of whom was named a cardinal by Pope Boniface VIII (the pope of the slap of Anagni) and one was the mayor of Priverno in 1301. In … Continued
The palace is located in the center of Priverno and was built in the seventeenth century by combining several medieval palaces of the twelfth century as were in use during this time. The main facade and all the windows are decorated with high-relief stucco while the eighteenth-century courtyard maintains its typically medieval appearance. The palace … Continued
In the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the ‘Bargello’ name meant a person with an important military post who often ruled the small towns. By name and by the austere form of this palace, then, one can deduce that it was used by some form of municipal urban militia mentioned in some local papers. The … Continued
The original building dates from the thirteenth century and is located in the main square right next to the cathedral and the Fountain of the Dolphins. The current appearance comes from the modernization works carried out in 1862 when a second floor was built and a balcony that shows itself above the facade. The façade … Continued
The villa was the residence of Cardinal Bartolomeo Gallio who was Secretary of State of Pope Gregory XIII. Bartholomew was born in Como and has built several villas including the most famous being the Villa d’Este in Cernobbio on Lake Como. In another of his buildings, the Gallio Palace in Gravedona, was held the famous … Continued
The origins of Bellagra are lost in time and according to legend, all cities with a fortified acropolis with polygonal walls were built by the god Saturn. Polygonal or Cyclopean walls are built with large irregular stones, placed one above the other, whose shapes fit together nearly perfectly. They can be traced back to the … Continued
The Borghese Arch is a monumental arch built by Scipione Borghese in 1600 on the main access road to the town.
The palace was built in the thirteenth century by the Counts of Segni, then it passed to the Colonna, who were for centuries in conflict with the papacy. After the destruction by Pope Paul IV, the palace was rebuilt, but, because of the family’s large financial difficulties, in 1614 the entire estate was sold to … Continued
The first part of the castle dates back to about 1000 with a fortresss built on Mount Albeto that oversaw all the Val di Comino. It soon passed to the control of the Counts of Aquino who transformed it into a military citadel. In 1349 an earthquake caused the collapse of the fortress and all … Continued
Originally the city walls for defence surrounded the castle and village in the valley. There were four gates in thee valley, two in the area of Peschio, and two in the castle. It is still visible in many spots.
The Gallio Arch was constructed in 1666 at the end of Via Gallio on the spot where originally was found Jacobelli Gate or the Gate of Cappuccini.
Gallio Palace was built from 1596 until the middle of 1600 and houses two plaques: one dedicated to Mario Equicola, the famous scholar of the city of Alvito, and one dedicated to 21 citizens of Alvito who in 1839 bought the palace at auction to give it the city administration. You enter through a loggia … Continued
The castle is the symbol of Colleferro and its arches are found in the emblem of the town and in the majestic entrance of the Church of Santa Barbara. Its origins date back to the XI and XII century and was built by the Duke of Segni to control via Latina in the Sacco Valley. … Continued
The castle is located in the northern part of the town and is reported in the Vatican maps. Until the war period it was characterized by a round tower subsequently destroyed by bombing, and affected by various archaeological excavations conducted by the city museum seeking artifacts.
Colleferro was born as a private settlement in the service of the munitions and bombs factory that was started around 1916. For all practical purposes it considers Colleferro as a ‘city of the Foundation’ and its main urban construction was built in 1937 by engineer Riccardo Morandi. He also designed the church of Santa Barbara, … Continued
After a period of closure, Casa Massimi has been reopened to the public. The ancient and historic house of Massimi – Berucci has always been at the centre of the life and culture of the town. Here once stood the mill and the reservoir to conserve the town’s water and distribute it in times of … Continued
The Lower Castle, the “Palatium inferius” is the best preserved and is on the north side of the town. Currently it spreads over two floors, ground and mezzanine floor, with the nineteenth-century external arrangement, and it protects the main gate of access to Piglio. The Lower Castle had a Court, a stage, onto which the … Continued
The Colonna Castle of Piglio was built before 1000 and is made up of two different parts, built at different times and with a gap between them of about 25 meters. The top of the castle, the “Palatium superior” (Upper Castle) is the oldest, and is located on a plateau at the top of a … Continued
The fountain was built in 1869 by Count Filippo Antonini, from which it takes its name, and was placed at the beginning of Piagge, the medieval quarter. Also the design of this fountain was given to the architect Giuseppe Olivieri who has chosen a different style for each. The Antonini fountain is raised vertically and … Continued
In 1866 the aqueduct of Trovalle had arrived in the town and ended with a temporary fountain. Once again the architect Giuseppe Olivieri was commissioned to create a monumental fountain designed in a simple style. A large rectangular bowl of white marble was built against a wall also made of white marble topped by a … Continued
In 1863 Pope Pius IX made a new aqueduct for the city of Alatri which thanked him by dedicating a monumental fountain in 1870. The fountain is located in the town centre in Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore. The project was entrusted to architect Giuseppe Olivieri who made a spectacular fountain with a large rectangular tank … Continued
The building is located in the highest part of the historic centre, and has clear signs of medieval fortification with the bell tower of the thirteenth century and defensive buttresses on the rock. In the building, on three floors, many ancient architectural features have been retained such as portals and stone window frames, chimneys, vents, … Continued
This is the palace where Pope Leo XIII was born and is in the “dammonte” part of the town, the highest point of the hill. A portion of the building belongs to the ancient castle of the De Ceccano. Despite numerous restorations and construction work it retains all the typical features of Renaissance palaces. … Continued
The palace is an imposing building which dates from the thirteenth century and it was one of the centres of social life of the town of Alatri in the fifteenth century. The palace is also known as Palazzo Patrassi or Patrassi-Grappelli, named after the original owners, and is flanked by a tower called Torre Grappelli. … Continued
The building dates from the thirteenth century and is located on Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore. It was expanded in 1532 by Giovanni Tuzi, said to be Turkish, and in 1583 by Carlo Conti, who turned it into a Renaissance palace. In 1721 the property passed to the City which turned it into a Palace for … Continued
The first palace was built in the first half of the twelfth century and later renovated in 1395 and in 1558. The current neo-classical style by the architect follows interventions by Raffaele Boretti between 1863 and 1870. Today the palace is the center of civic life and is home to the town. Towards the end … Continued
The way to the village is through an arched door and the village is characterized by several towers connected by walls. Some of these are easily recognizable while others have been incorporated into other buildings, but the defensive perimeter is imposing and fully visible. The narrow streets are lined with white and grey ‘cobblestones’ forming … Continued
At the end of the fourteenth century, the Savelli family built the main gate of the town: a pointed arch that is still visible and well preserved stone blocks with the arch key engraved with the family crest.
This building bears the name of one of the most “significant” of Rocca Priora’s sons, Monsignor Francesco Giacci. Adjacent to the parish church, is an elegant building that still preserves the elements in the facades and the original materials: bricks, stone and lava stone. Inside the original system in wooden floors and tiles in brick … Continued
The ancient castle of the eleventh century, that completed the role to defend the town, was transformed by the Savelli into a residential palace. From the lookout, in the square in front of the palace, you can enjoy a breathtaking view from the Tiburtini mountains to the Prenestini. The palace is home to the City … Continued
The first documents on the tower of Piscoli date back to 1332 when it was an isolated tower that was part of a military communications system for controlling Vias Prenestina, Labicana and Latina. Later the tower was surrounded by a moat fed by the river Sacco, and by a wall within which there were also … Continued
The Paliano gymnasium (gym) is one of the most extraordinary examples of contemporary art of architect Massimiliano Fuksas and has been his ‘stepping stone’ towards international success. The double façade of the building, with a part with the silhouette of an inclined facade that seems to be about to fall is his tribute to the … Continued
The palace dates back to the eighteenth century and originally was called Palazzo Tucci-Savo, in honour of Benedict Tucci-Savo, who in 1867 was the last standard-bearer of the Papal State in Paliano during that period. In the basement there is also a mill and today the building is a private residence.
It was built in 1600 by the Petrarch family that, in 1755 brought to Paliano the order of the Passionists. In fact, in 1767 the palace housed the founder of the order, St. Paul of the Cross. In the palace there is a private chapel and numerous frescoed rooms by Tommaso Conca, also author of … Continued
The Furba door is located in the north side of the old town and has a small opening hidden in the walls and protected by the natural slope. Probably it was an emergency exit, an escape, for citizens in case of attack or siege of the city.
Porta Napoletana is located along the south side of Paliano overlooking Naples and this building had a brick core with a drawbridge. The gate dates back to the Middle Ages and was rebuilt in the seventeenth century by Carlo Brancacci and in 1704 by the Governor Antonio Ossuary, as reflected by a plaque on the … Continued
Porta Romana is located along the side of Paliano overlooking Rome and its construction dates back to 1232, when Gregory IX strengthened the fortifications of the town. In 1557 and in 1565 the gate was restored and decorated with frescoes which have been lost. Its present form is a restoration of 1710 by Filippo Colonna … Continued
The palace was built by Filippo I Colonna in 1620 as a quadrangular building adherent to the Sant’Andrea church that, at that time, was also the family tomb. In 1661 the building was expanded by building a new wing with new boardrooms. In the hall of weapons are war trophies taken from the Turks at … Continued
The Colonna fortress is the most representative monument of Paliano and is still used as a prison. The fortress was begun in the eleventh century during the period in which the inhabitants sought refuge from the Barbarians in fortified buildings on high ground. In 1232 the Castrum Palianus was surrounded by walls protected by a … Continued
The area where you find the fountain and the bridge was very important during the Roman period when Frosinone was considered the town of the rivers. For here the via Latina (today via Casilina) bridged the river Cosa, which then had a much larger flow. Via Latina connected Rome to Naples and its importance was … Continued
The iron sculpture of Umberto Mastroianni is dedicated to the fallen of all wars. The work dates from 1977 and is located in the Square of Peace. Umberto Mastroianni is native of Arpino, where he established his Mastroianni Foundation,. The Mastroianni family of artists are well known in many artistic fields from sculpture to the … Continued
The palace was built in 1930 by architect Jacobucci in neoclassical style to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the March on Rome by Mussolini. In the palace there are many works of art such as the famous bronze statue of the Dancer by Amleto Cataldi, a sculptor of Roccasecca, which has been exhibited for a … Continued
The palace is also known as the Palace of the Prefecture and is the most significant building of Frosinone because it was built on the foundations and structure of the sixteenth-century fortress. Since 1825 it has been modified by the architect Sarti to become the seat of the Apostolic Delegation of Frosinone (Governors of the … Continued
The Baroque fountain is located in Piazza Madonna della Neve and was built in 1711 by architect Alessandro Specchi commissioned by Livio de Carolis, Marquis of Prossedi and the General of the Papal Poste. La Fontana barocca si trova in piazza Madonna della Neve ed è stata realizzata nel 1711 dall’architetto Alessandro Specchi su commissione … Continued
The Serrone profile is characterized by a solitary tower which stands on a spur above the old town. The tower has two levels and from its position overlooks the entire valley and enjoys an amazing view. The original castrum of Serrone was a square castle with a tower that was built around 1000 AD at … Continued
The nineteenth-century tower has three levels and rests on an arch that leads into the historic part of town and to the city hall. The tower has no connection to the Church of Santa Maria, opposite in the unnamed (Sterbini) town square.