The church was built in 1763 by Prince Pamphili and expanded in 1837 with the addition of two side chapels. The plan is a Greek cross, and the altar has a painting of the Crucifixion. In 1894 the façade was rebuilt by Pope Leo XIII, and the vault is frescoed with the most significant symbols … Continued
The name of the church corresponds to its name being divided in two between San Rocco, protector from the plague and patron of Gavignano, and the Madonna delle Grazie with two statues in special niches. The church dates back to 1679 and was renovated in 1736, with the chapel of the Madonna. In 1854 the … Continued
The church was part of the Rossilli monastery. The earthquake of 1495 destroyed it and the church was rebuilt in the sixteenth century. At the end of the seventeenth century a new building was constructed, above the previous church. The interior is in Baroque style and the church has three naves and eight side chapels, … Continued
This church is one of the oldest in the country and is located on a cliff overlooking the entire village. Inside it is preserved an old wooden statue of the Madonna that according to legend, was found by a shepherd miraculously in a cave. This statue is carried in procession on the feast day of … Continued
Outside Cantalice, in the village of San Liberato, is the parish church and the old oratory. Inside you will find many interesting frescoes such as probably one from the Giotto school depicting the Madonna and Child. The church has an organ with 1600 pipes, renovated in 2005, and retains the urn containing the relics of … Continued
This church in the heart of the village was dedicated to Santa Maria del Popolo to sanction the union of the ancient fortresses which formed the Cantalice Castle. The facade is adorned with a 1548 portal on which we read a Latin inscription with a dedication to Mary. Inside you can admire the tombs of … Continued
Coming down from the top of the village, you find the Misericordia church with an image of the Madonna painted on the upper part of the apse. This is the church of the Brotherhood of Mercy or the Company of the Good Death, as evidenced by a death emblem in the ceiling of the church … Continued
The church is located in one of the best and highest positions in the town and was erected on the spot where stood the house of the saint. The church is from the mid-seventeenth century and its façade is the eighteenth-century. The church has an eighteenth century organ. The plan is a Latin cross and … Continued
Outside the town of Upper Cantalice is the fifteenth-century Church of Peace. There are interesting frescoes of the Annunciation in the apse and the eighteenth-century coffered ceiling.
The first news of the church came with a visit by Bishop Lombardi in 1658 and probably the building had been built two years earlier to protect Castro dei Volsci from the plague of 1656. San Rocco is traditionally considered the protector against the plague and in many towns churches were built with small hospitals … Continued
The church dates back to the end of the 19th century as a small chapel dedicated to San Sio. The building expanded when the cult of this saint spread to southern Latium. Today it is a modern reinforced concrete building and brick facade view. Inside the church there are many ex-voti. Saint Sio is celebrated … Continued
The church dates back to 1600 and was built to bring peace between the duelers who used to clash in this area called Pozzotell. The church has a simple plastered facade adorned with a door and a gable. The church is integrated into a limestone building and is accessed through simple stone steps.
The church was built in the 1960s and looks like an elongated body and has a simple but impressive facade. The entrance door has a lunette and the totality is framed by a large arch. The interior has a unique nave and is all white.
The church was built in 1955 for the will of the inhabitants of the district near the railway station who have engaged in the works and the purchase of the furnishings. The land belonged to a Franciscan friar, and for this reason the church was consecrated to Saint Francis. The simple building of reinforced concrete … Continued
St. Nicholas was considered the guardian of the gates of the town and this church is located right beside Portella, the access point and therefore the most vulnerable point of the city walls of Castro. Other centrer of Lazio also have churches dedicated to St. Nicholas always located outside the walls. The original core of … Continued
The church is located within the city wall where once the convent of the Minor Franciscan Brothers stood. Probably it dates from between 1156 and 1160, but over the centuries has had many renovations. Inside there are paintings dating back to the Romanesque period and are part of the original church. Notable are a marble … Continued
The church is the ancient Holy Cross consecrated by Eugene III in 1151 during a stay on a trip from Fossanova to Montecassino. From the archives of Montecassino, the church was visited by other Pontiffs: Lucius III (1183), Innocent III (1208) and Honor III (1226). The altar is called ‘papal’ because it faces the people … Continued
The church is modern and is located in the lower part of the village where an ancient chapel was once erected. It is linked to the tradition of the Madonna del Piano.
The church dates from the twelfth century, it is mentioned in a Bull of Onorio II, dated 28 November 1125 from the Lateran council. The church is adjacent to the fortress, inside the castle walls. The church was rebuilt in Baroque style and enriched by many paintings and ornaments. Inside there are signs of major … Continued
This is a small country church built in 1712 on the site of an ancient sacred church. Inside it is possible to admire a twentieth-century statue of the Virgin crowned with the Child and a painting depicting Pope Gregory the Great with St. Sioyus deacon and Saint John the Evangelist. Noteworthy is the XVI-XVII century … Continued
Originally dedicated to the Madonna of Loreto, this church was built according to the will of the population in the eighteenth century on the road that leads to Frosinone and over the centuries has been used as lazaret during epidemics. The interior has a single nave and a single altar, with the wooden statues of … Continued
The church was built in 1600 in the place where a medieval icon was found. Worth viewing are the Madonna del Loco canvas, on the right wall a tombstone that reminds of the coming of St. Paul of the Cross and the altar of St. Anthony with numerous ex-voto.
Located outside the walls, it was restored in 1645 by the Angeletti family, and was used as a lazaret (contagious diseases hospital) during the epidemics. Inside it houses a 17th century table with the Lord’s (Jesus) Nativity. Do not miss the distinctive crib that is set inside it during Christmas time.
In 1768, a new church of San Stefano was built to cater for the growth of the population from that of 1430. The architect, Nicola Fagiolo, was a pupil of Vanvitelli. The connection between the two churches (‘original’ and new) takes place through a porthole located in the ceiling of the original church. The new church … Continued
Under the church of Santo Stefano is the original church of 1400s, which is accessed from the entrance to the Ferri Museum. The church has a single nave with a cross vault supported by four columns with reused capitals and a semicircular apse. It is covered by a stuccoed ciborium (altar canopy) of the sixteenth century and … Continued
The 17th-century convent is built on the ruins of an imperial Roman villa. Although the church had been dedicated to St. Francis of Assisi and San Carlo Borromeo, it was always known by the name of San Carlo, for the will of Prince Filippo Colonna, who was the grandson of the saint. The complex was begun in … Continued
The sanctuary was built in the place of the battle between the Romans and Prenestini versus Volsci and Ernici of 267 AC. In this place, in 1655, was found a Byzantine image of a Madonna with the Christ Child in her arms with Saints Peter and Paul, and a church has built there. Perhaps the image … Continued
The ancient church was consecrated by Pope Symmachus in the early 6th century. Some scholars argue that this church dates back to the year 1000 and was built after the destruction of the former church by the Barbarians. The church is very simple and has a unique ambiance with an A-frame roof covering, an altar … Continued
The church of Sant’Anatolia is also called Santa Maria di Rapello and is quoted in 1669, in the records of a pastoral visit to Cave by Cardinal Antonio Barberini on July 10, the day when the festival of Sant’Anatolia is celebrated. The little church was owned by the brotherhood of SS. Crocifisso, and here was a miraculous … Continued
The church of Santa Maria was built around the 14th century in the place of passage of the territorial control armies. The building has a rectangular shape with a gable roof and is rich in frescoes. Inside it is the fresco of the Madonna nursing the Child of the late 1300s, contained inside a marble tabernacle. … Continued
The small church of San Lorenzo was the first of Cave and was built on a catacomb complex and initially also had a small monastery of Benedictine monks. It is quoted in a 988 document by the Abbey of Subiaco. The church was expanded in the XIII and XVI centuries. The interior is three naves … Continued
The chapel genitilion (private chapel) is located inside the Longhi family palace, and was erected in 1710 by Pietro Antonio Longhi, replacing that of the 14th century, that had become dilapidated and uncomfortable because it was located in the area of the ancient fortress. The date of construction is in fact uncertain: an ancient fortress … Continued
The aedicula is from medieval times and is about 2 km from the village along the ancient road from Anagni that climbed towards Fumone, right at the crossroads with the road leading to Trivigliano. The aedicula is square-shaped and had an image lost in time. The present image is by the painter Mariangela Calabrese and … Continued
The church is about 3 km from the village on the crossroads between the road that connects Ferentino to Alatri and leads to Fumone. The church was erected by municipal council resolution of February 15, 1609 to preserve the ancient 14th century aedicula that sat at the crossroads. The aedicula is shaped like a sail … Continued
The modern church is about 3 km from the village, in Pozzi di Fumone district. It was sought and donated by Pope Paul VI after his visit to Fumone in 1966, as a sign of his veneration for the holy hermit. The church was built in 1968 and inaugurated on the occasion of the seventh … Continued
Hidden in the alleys of the old town, the church has been open to worship since 1819 (Gregoryan Register), although it is today deconsecrated and assigned for housing. It is owned by the heirs of the Cocchi family, the oldest noble family of Fumone. The only element of note remains the façade, decorated with geometric … Continued
The church is just outside the village, along the ancient fortified path leading to the fortress. It was erected in 1743 by Anna Maria Cocchi, of the oldest noble family of Fumone. Pope Pius VI, with the “Forgiveness” Bull of 1783, invested the church with the cult of plenary indulgence. The building was erected for … Continued
The church was erected in the first half of the 14th century on a former structure, by the canonical “magister Iohannes de Fumone” of the homonymous church of St. Gaugerico in the diocese of Cambrai. Giovanni da Fumone was the apostolic writer of Pope John XXII, when in 1332 he returned to Fumone. The history … Continued
The building dates back to the 14th century and is located right in the main square opposite the collegiate church. It still features an 17th-century stucco altar decorated with fine marble and part of the ancient terracotta brickwork pavement. Until the beginning of the twentieth century there was a small bell tower with a single … Continued
The church originally was part of the “castrum” of the lords and its first mention dates back to the 12th century. At the end of the 18th century it was completely restored and in 1781 Pope Pius VI raised it to collegiate. During the nineteenth century, the church underwent further modifications that led to the … Continued
The small church is located at the entrance of the village cemetery. The interior is very simple in line with its functions. As part of the celebrations of Sant’Oliva, during the night procession, this church is one of the main stages in which the procession stops to pray and sing hymns. During this break, firecrackers and … Continued
This modern church was built in the 80’s to meet the needs of the population in the lower part of Trivigliano. The church is a sober building with a small bell tower and is characterized by a large open space for functions and parish activities. It is located right next to the sports fields.
The church dedicated to the Madonna delle Grazie and entrusted to the care of the Brotherhood of St Joseph was in the past inhabited by a hermit. Behind the Presbytery was recently found a cave with inside some objects for worship. It is a single nave and still has the altar attached to the bottom … Continued
This is a small and modern chapel from which in June the Company of Trivigliano leaves for the pilgrimage to the Santissima in Vallepietra.
The small church of Santa Oliva is located below the parish church of Santa Maria Assunta. The crypt is made up of two square plan spaces. In a niche above the altar lies the ancient statue of the patron saint who, according to tradition, cannot be moved from his seat, under penalty of strong hail, … Continued
The church is of medieval origin and has undergone much remodeling until its present eighteenth-century appearance. It has a single nave with elevated presbytery and small side chapels dedicated to the many saints revered by the community of Trivigliano. The great altarpiece represents the Assumption of the Virgin and dates back to the eighteenth century. … Continued
The church is located in the historic centre just below the medieval castle and the first reports dates back from 1295. It has undergone several restorations over the centuries and has its own unclassifiable style. You enter from a simple stone facade adorned only by a modern door with sculpted bronze plaques. The interior has … Continued
Next to the church located right in the centre of the square is the bell tower that welcomes the faithful. The bell tower ends with a Baroque style dome and gives an impact to the town’s profile.
The population of Torre Cajetani is strongly linked to the Sanctuary of the Most Holy Trinity of Vallepietra, and every year in June it participates in the pilgrimage on foot. The Torre Cajetani Company starts from this little church after the celebration of a Mass. The church is of medieval origin and in its interior … Continued
The little church was erected in memory of the stay by St. Benedict in his journey from Subiaco to Cassino. Here it is said that a tree grew where the saint stopped.
The small chapel was erected in honour of Sant’Antonio Abate, the protector of animals, and is located near animal grazing areas, close to a small artificial lake.
The small church of medieval origins is located near the entrance of the village and is dedicated to the patron martyr and her seven children. The outside of the building is a simple masonry structure enriched only by a frame on the entrance door, while inside it features decorations that recall the baroque period. The … Continued
The church is located in the hamlet of Pietrafitta, that probably due to its name “stone marker”, that are the border markers between the Duchy of Alvito and that of Atina. The simple local stone church has the peculiarity of having a bell tower and a small tower with a clock on one of its … Continued
At the centre of the village, this church was founded as a chapel of a castle and was already collegiate in the fourteenth century. The original structure was renovated in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. In 1984, the church was badly damaged by an earthquake. A display case in the church holds the dressed statue … Continued
In Acquasanta at Pietrafitta is this church built over a water source that was for a long time considered therapeutic. In 1534, Gaio Prudenzio already cited this ‘miraculous source’ of sulphur water, where he brought his daughter: 3 different straws of water that ensured birth of children of different sizes. Remember that the Christian martyr … Continued
The Sanctuary is located in the Abruzzo National Park and was erected in the eleventh century by Benedictine monks at 1030 meters above sea level, probably on the remains of a former temple. Over the centuries, this little church enjoyed special papal privileges: those who worked there were entitled to indulgance, to the forgiveness of … Continued
The church is of medieval origin and was restored in the 14th century. It has a large entrance porch where there are frescoes attributed to Marco di Sangermano inspired by the Visions of the monk Alberico. The frescoes represent the Last Judgment and the procession of the Saints, that of the Religious and the Martyrs, … Continued
The church is in Pitocco district, outside the village. Its appearance dates from the resettlement work in the early 2000s. The church has a modern stylized bell tower in reinforeced concrete and a new bell. In this district, the worship of the Blessed Virgin is very much felt, having died at only 18 years in 1902, … Continued
The church was designed by the engineer, Paschal Atorino in 1983, adapting it to the shapes of a rough terrain. For this reason, the external structure is segmented. In 1993 it was inaugurated and consecrated to Santa Teresa of the Child Jesus. The marble interior furnishings, such as the Baptismal Source, the altar, the ambone … Continued
Also called Terconia or Vittoria because it was built to celebrate the success of Marcantonio Colonna in Lepanto the church was originally annexed to the San Carlo Hospital, which housed sick and pilgrims. Inside, Terenzio da Fiuggi made a wall painting on the upper altar representing the battle of Lepanto and the Virgin asking for … Continued
The church was known as Santa Maria de Foris, because it was outside the “Colle” ward and probably had been built by monks. It is cited for the first time in reference to an Abbot Oddone in 1333. The façade is a Romanesque ‘capanna’ with elements of Gothic architecture even though it has been redone … Continued
The small church is located near the Lake of Canterno and was erected in 1695. In 1772 it was destroyed by a flood and rebuilt two years later adorning it with a fresco that came from an old church on the mountain of Porciano. According to tradition, the church is built on the spot where … Continued
The church was built in the 18th century to replace a former medieval church and named after the nearby convent founded in 1741 by the three Faioli sisters. The church has an eighteenth-century appearance and the interior is a single nave with lateral chapels enriched with marble and stucco. Below the church lies the crypt … Continued
The church seems to have been built around the 11th century on a Roman temple dedicated to god Apollo. Its original Italian Gothic style was then changed into baroque style. For centuries every morning Holy Mass was celebrated at dawn for the shepherds and farmers of Fiuggi and for this reason the church was known … Continued
The church was originally built outside the walls and dedicated to the SS. Apostles Peter and Paul. In the seventeenth century it was demolished because it was in a difficult place to reach with bad weather and snow and the current church was built inside the walls by extending a previous building. Today it is … Continued
The church is in the square of San Rocco and is easy to confuse with the other medieval buildings. In fact, its appearance is very similar to that of a home with a simple door, a plain stone border and a double horizontal marble frame above the door. You enter the church from a side … Continued
The newly built church takes its name from the Santa Barbara district where it is. It was realized thanks to funds obtained from the Panzanella Festival and the commitment of the local populace. The feast of the saint is traditionally shifted to June in memory of when Vico’s men followed the rules of stock movement … Continued
The original collegiate church dates back to the Millennium and is quoted in the biography of San Domenico da Sora. St. Michael the Archangel was very revered in the Byzantine period for his appearances in France, Rome and Puglia. The current church was rebuilt in 1581 and has a special bell tower ending with a design … Continued
The church has a Romanesque style with an ogival vaulted roof, a beautiful exterior portal and a small bell tower. The church dates back to the eleventh century and in a document of 1147 it is reported that the relics of the apostles, SS Peter and Paul were kept inside. The church has a single … Continued
The church dates back to the tenth century and its construction used Roman remains, as is apparent from the architrave. The building was then restored in 1887. Inside there is a wooden statue depicting a 12th-century Virgin with Child, Romanesque style with Byzantine influences, with traces of original colour. The church is home to the … Continued
The first news of the church is from 1191 and the building is as a single nave with double gable cover: from the medieval and a sixteenth century. The doors have a sixteenth-century architrave and the side has a St George fresco on the gable. Above the main altar there is a 19th century wood … Continued
The sanctuary is about 1 km outside the village at an altitude of 760 metres above sea level and dates back to the XV-XVI century being built on a former pagan altar. Inside, the church is covered with a barrel vault, and has a precious fresco of the Trinity depicting a rare crucified Jesus. As … Continued
The little church is located just outside the walls of the village, near Porta Otricelli, and was built around the 1500’s by Notary Laurentino of Vico. The church is also called ‘Madunnella’ for the great fresco of Our Lady with Child found on the wall at the back. Next to the Virgin Mary are two … Continued
The church is located just outside the town centre and dates from the 14th century, and was then expanded in the 16th century. It is built around a small chapel with a fresco sacred image of Our Lady with Child. This fresco is found again near the main altar. The church has a rectangular plan … Continued
The church is located 2 km from the village and dates from early in the first half of the 18th century. The construction of the current design was completed in 1734. The new cemetery built in 1875 is located at the church. Its interior has a majestic Baroque altar style, various oil paintings, including a … Continued
The church (private) was part of the bounty of the Benedictine monks and the first news information comes from 1180. Grancia was a granary and was also part of an agricultural complex that was supposed to support monks. The church has a single aisle and simple furnishings with two ogival arches in stonework and a … Continued
The church is the most important in the town and dates back to 1630 when the Boncompagni destroyed the church of San Lorenzo that was inside the castle and rebuilt it in the centre of the village, thus avoiding the constant pilgrimage of people into the castle itself. The church has a square façade with … Continued
The small church of Our Lady of Grace is located inside the Boncompagni castle built on a rock spur that is part of the historic centre of the town. The church dates back to the eighteenth century and is a small circular building and was built out of the apse of the former church of … Continued
The church was originally called the Church of the Saints Crucifix (Crociforio) and was part of the Convent of Saint Francis, which was expropriated and became a woollen mill. The church was damaged by the 1915 earthquake and destroyed by American bombings in WW2. After the war, the churches of St. Francis, Saint Anthony and … Continued
The little church is part of the Fibreno-Lefebvre complex and is currently closed for restoration. Its origin dates back to the nineteenth century when it was built by the owners of the old paper mill Lefebvre to return to the population a place of worship replacing the original church of Santa Maria delle Forme that … Continued
The church was built in 1714 at “Colavardio” (Hill of the Guard), and in 1739 the bishop granted it the right to burial.
The church dates back to 1629 when a group of devotees, led by Stefano Cascarini, requested approval of the Bishop of Sora. It is located in the village of Serre in the locality “Selvamisera”.
It is one of the oldest churches in Picinisco and was built at the expense of the population. The documents show that it already existed in 1305. In 1826 a cemetery was built nearby which is now disused.
The Sanctuary is located in the Canneto Valley at an altitude of 1020 metres at the foot of Mount Meta and is documented the first time in 819 AD. Legend has it that here the Virgin Mary appeared to shepherds who asked them to build the sanctuary. The archaeological excavations show that this was a … Continued
The church was built in 1500 when it was dedicated to San Carlo Borromeo, then it was dedicated to the Madonna delle Grazie and finally, from 1800, has been dedicated to St. Rocco. Inside is a single nave with a vaulted ceiling and has five altars dedicated to the Madonna delle Grazie, San Giuseppe, San … Continued
The church dates back to 1305 and was sometime later enlarged and restored. Inside it has three naves, a sacristy, two choirs and a cappella. In the church there is a pipe organ built by Catarinozzi in 1739. The carved stone bell tower with a spiral interior staircase dates back to eleventh century so was … Continued
The church is one of the oldest and is in the Romanesque style. It is located outside the historic centre. It is first mentioned in a document of 1110, a bull of Pope Paschal I to the Bishop of Sora Goffrido. The church is built on previous Roman remains. It has three naves and a … Continued
The church dates back to the thirteenth century and it’s located along a cliff on the outskirts of town. It originally had two floors of which now only white stone walls remain. Next to the small church there is an opening in a rock from which water seasonally comes out in a continuous stream, Bonifacio VIII … Continued
The hermitage dates back to the 13th century and is located half way up the mountain, at an altitude of 693 meters. It has been built on top of the ruins of a thirteenth century monastery. In its vicinity a natural mountain water spring can be found, since the hermitage is located close to the … Continued
Alongside the church of San Michael there is a special type of belltower with bell. This refers to the two-dimensional tower with a ‘flat bell’, just like the sail of a boat, that was typical of the 13th century. This is one of the few examples left in the Lazio region as most of these … Continued
It is the last masterpiece of Gian Lorenzo Bernini, who designed every architectural detail including the furnishings. The shape is reminiscent of the Pantheon, a round plan with portico and cupola. The paintings and frescoes make it a baroque masterpiece. The remains of the previous church, demolished in 1665 were incorporated into the church of … Continued
Like many Italian towns, there is also a little church in Casalvieri dedicated to this holy patron of plague patients. The church is open in August, the month in which San Rocco is celebrated.
The sanctuary was started on April 20, 1636, replacing a chapel located on the site where the Virgin Mary had appeared in a rose garden to a small mute shepherdess with grazing sheep. The shepherdess regained her speech after the appearance. The church has an ornate facade in diamond shaped bossage, and originally had a … Continued
The baroque church dates back to the Middle Ages but was restructured in the 18th century under the leadership of the architect Giacomo del Sole. The simple facade is enriched by baroque friezes and two niches with statues of the saints. The interior has three aisles and is in a beautifully worked baroque style. The … Continued
In 1004 St. Nilo the Younger, hegumen (head of the Abbey) of the Greek Byzantine monks, escaped from Calabria because of the Saracen raids, and founded the Abbey on spacious grounds given to him by Count Gregory I of Tusculum. The Abbey, also known as the Abbey of Santa Maria di Grottaferrata, was consecrated in … Continued
The Casa Santa Rosa, of the “French Sisters”, was started in 1892 and finished in 1931 with a delay due to the discovery of a Roman villa of Marcus Tullius Cicero.
It was built in 1918 by Maria Santovetti Tanlongo. The style is neo-Gothic and the bell tower was added in the sixties.
This is the Abbey Church and was consecrated in 1024 by Pope John XIX of Tusculum. The church is brick with the classic Romanesque style with a bell tower and a portico with travertine columns. The facade has a rose window of the thirteenth century. Inside it is divided into three naves and at the … Continued
The church dates back to 1300 and was dedicated to Our Lady of Mount Carmel and then to St. Anthony in 1870. The nearby convent is mentioned for the first time in the fourteenth century, and was built by the Ricci family, the same family as Fra Tommasso (Brother Thomas), still revered and studied. Inside … Continued
The first document of the sanctuary dates back to 778 when the Duke of Spoleto, the Lombard Hildebrand, gave the church and the territory of San Donato to the Monastery of San Vincenzo al Volturno. There are traces of the initial small church. The current building is 26 meters long and has three naves with … Continued
The cathedral is dedicated to Santa Maria and San Marcello Pope and dates back to the fourteenth century but then was changed in the Baroque period. In the eighteenth century, the church was enlarged and embellished with simple, stylish, decorations, and an artistic chorus Colaianni praised by the bishop in his pastoral visit in 1800. … Continued
The Church of Saint Anthony (Sant’Antonio Abate) is located on the slopes of San Casto hill, near a well-preserved stretch of the polygonal walls. The shrine is dedicated to the hermit patron saint of the animals. The interior has three naves and the main altar is the work of Neapolitan baroque school. On January 17, … Continued
The sanctuary was built in 1700s at a cave where an old image of the Virgin was venerated. The church has three naves and chapels. The bell tower was built in 1937. The dome is covered with a series of paintings in which are depicted the S.S. Trinity, the Virgin and the four Evangelists.
The church was first built in 1429 by some citizens of Sora for atonement of their sins. It was partially built into the rock in an area rich in Palaeolithic finds. In the church there is a fresco of the 1400s of the Madonna that was destroyed in 1943 by bombing by the Allied forces. … Continued
The church, along the bank of the Liri, was built in 1679 on the design by the architect. Francesco di Como Campione. The church had an almost oval plan with a tall bell tower and a baroque style. Following the destruction by the 1915 earthquake, the church was rebuilt in 1932. Inside you can admire … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century but was modified after the earthquake of 1915. The church was shortened to enlarge Corso Volsci. The facade has four columns of neo-classical style with two fake bell towers on either side. The inside is at a lower level than the road. On the vault of the central … Continued
The church was built in 1610 by the Duchess Costanza Sforza Boncompagni thanks to a bequest of 300 ducats after the death of her husband, Giacomo (James) the Duke. The building was home to the Jesuit college and in 1614, at the behest of Bishop Jerome Giovannelli, the bones of the holy martyr Giuliano (Julian) … Continued
The church and the adjoining convent were founded respectively in early 1300s and in 1363, according to the testament of Cicco Omobono, the church was enlarged in the Gothic style. Traces remain of this building in the rear wall of ashlar stone, the pointed arch mullioned windows in travertine with central column and curved decorations … Continued
The church was rebuilt in 1928 in the Romanesque style. The primitive building dedicated to Restituita, a 275 AD martyr, stood on the northern side and was built between the ninth and eleventh centuries. The church collapsed in the Dark Ages and was rebuilt and re-dedicated by Pope Adrian IV in 1155. In 1229 it … Continued
The church was built on the ruins of a pagan temple of the god “Sole-Sorano” of 111 BC. A date of the year 1100 is engraved in the architrave of the portal. At that time the church was outside the walls. The building has undergone considerable vicissitudes. The Frederick had it destroyed in 1229 and … Continued
The church was founded in 1011 on the remains of a large Roman public building, and in this area was the house of the father of Marcus Tullius Cicero The church was dedicated to the Mother of God and San Domenico. In 1030 the church and other goods were donated by the steward Pietro il … Continued
It is the first church built in Lower Fiuggi, the area of the Fonti and dates back to 1922 with a Neo-Romanesque style. The designer, Ing. Garibaldi Burba, also realized the great liberty hotel of “Palazzo della Fonte”. Its construction had begun during the First World War and the name was given to it as … Continued
This Church dedicated to the patron saint of Fiuggi, was built before 1000 by the Benedictine monks of Subiaco. In the seventeenth century it was restored and enlarged in the Baroque style. Inside is a fresco of the thirteenth century Giotto school representing the “Madonna and Child” and a stone holy water font made from … Continued
This monastery is outside Fiuggi in the valley of Diluvio towards Arcinazzo. It belonged to several monastic orders, the Knights Templar, the Benedictines, the Conventual Franciscans and finally to the Capuchins, still owners of the complex. The body of the Venerable Francesco Maria Tittelmans is preserved here. In 1537 he was visiting the monastery declaring … Continued
The Romanesque style monastery, was founded by Pope Celestine V, and it held his remains up to 1327 and became a pilgrimage site. The church was ruled by the Order of the Celestini until the seventeenth century when, for a shortage of monks, it was attached to Saint Eusebius in Rome. The exterior comprises a … Continued
The church is one of the most beautiful monuments of southern Lazio and one of the first churches in the Cistercian Gothic style along with Fossanova and Casamari. It is believed that formerly the abbey had to be connected precisely with that of Casamari and should possess a cloister, the remains of arches on the … Continued
On Mount Cecubo, near the castle of Roccaguglielma, this shrine was erected in the seventeenth century and restored and enlarged in the nineteenth century. From its large terrace you can enjoy the incredible view of the Valley of the Saints, and the Abbey of Montecassino. The building is the natural continuity of the former chapel … Continued
The church stands alone on Monte D’Oro and the saint is celebrated by devotees with a solemn procession on the Sunday after August 7.
The church’s history is closely linked to that of the adjoining convent. The building dates back to 1589 for the church and the ground floor of the convent, and to 1853 for the completion of the convent. The date was found on a stone near the altar that emerged during the reconstruction work after the … Continued
The church has valuable fifteenth-century frescoes. The name comes from the sparse vegetation around the building that has never managed to be lush. For this ‘Montevetro’ means “clean mountain like a glass.”
The church of Santa Maria Maggiore and San Filippo Neri dates back to 1200s and its plan was in the shape of Greek Cross, and later transformed into a Latin Cross. Inside there are seven altars of beautiful marble inlay and four chapels. On the high altar is an altarpiece depicting Pentecost attributed to Taddeo … Continued
The church has been documented since the tenth century and has been repeatedly destroyed and rebuilt. Inside it houses important paintings of the Neapolitan school. It has long been a direct possession of the abbey of Montecassino.
The church, with its imposing baroque facade, has been commissioned by a famous bishop of the seventeenth century, originally from Esperia, Monsignor Giuseppe Crispino. Inside is a wooden statue of the Madonna of the sixteenth century and two paintings by Luca Giordano. Destroyed by the bombings of the last war has been restored and used … Continued
This small church takes its name from its location at the entrance of the village. Surrounded by a forest along the cattle trail to Subiaco, it overlooks the whole Aniene Valley. Its construction probably dates back to the early 1500s and in 1602 it became a sanctuary when the statue of golden stucco that adorned … Continued
In a steep area under the remains of the fortress there is a church, supported by stone arches, all built in local stone. It has a high steeple and is dedicated to Our Lady of the Visitation. It was enlarged in the seventeenth century and equipped with a new decorated portal while paintings were acquired … Continued
The church is located at the foot of the village near the river Rio and owes its name to the discovery of a painting of the Virgin of the fifteenth century. Legend has it that the icon was found by a farmer while ploughing his field. On the site of the discovery initially a chapel … Continued
The church is also called Tigri Church in honour of the Marquis Francesco Tigri who built it at his own expense in 1702. The building is neo-classical style and is located in the town’s main square, Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, in front of the fountain by Biondi. The interior has a single nave and the style … Continued
The Church of St Peter is very ancient and was attached to the ducal palace near the castle gate. In 1702 it was totally destroyed by an earthquake and in 1750 it was rebuilt larger by Gerolamo Pamphili. Inside it has a single nave covered by a barrel vault and has two chapels on each … Continued
Located in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, where you could admire a sixteenth century painting depicting the Saviour that has now been transferred to the Church of St. Peter.
The cloistered monastery is adjacent to the church of St. Andrew and the first news we have of it is in a notarial deed of 1249, although tradition says that it was founded in the sixth century by Saint Scholastica, sister of St. Benedict. In the monastery of Monte Cassino 86 scrolls are kept related … Continued
The church is located on the southern slope of Mount Civitavecchia and it was for a long time a place for hermits. It is located along the ancient trail blazed by the slaves of Cicero who were brought to the Acropolis. It is a landmark of the landscape. The original building dates back to the … Continued
The church dates from the seventeenth century by incorporating one of the towers of the city wall. It consists of a single small room with a central altar in polychrome marble in the shape of a temple. On either side of the altar there is a baroque framed fresco. In the church there is the … Continued
The church is located at the entrance of Arpino and has a Baroque style. It is mentioned in a document of 1463 that concerns the pact signed between Pope Pius II, the Aragonese and the Angevins that quotes the “Ecclesiae Sanctae Marie Graziarum extra muros terre Arpini”. The building was renovated in the eighteenth century … Continued
The church dates from the eleventh century and was completely rebuilt in 1500s. The church is located inside the acropolis and houses a statue of the saint carried every year in a solemn procession through the streets of Arpino. The special feature of this statue is that it is actually a triptych representing St. Anne, … Continued
St. Vitus Church is located within the ancient Acropolis and must have been built on the ruins of a Roman temple dedicated to Venere Conciliatrice (Venus Consiliator). The rectory is located in part on the ruins of the chapel dedicated to Our Lady, and partly on an old ossuary. The first official records date back … Continued
The church is also called ‘the statue of the Crucified’ and is owned by the Pesce family. It was built in 1720 by Cardinal Giuseppe Pesce, teacher and rector of the Pontifical Chapel. The facade is a simple neoclassical style, and the plan is a Greek cross. The church has been robbed several times over … Continued
The church is mentioned for the first time in a document exchange in 1084 and was a Benedictine parish that later became a Collegiate Church with liturgical and administrative autonomy. It is located at the foot of Civitavecchia and was destroyed and rebuilt in the thirteenth century. Then it underwent a first restoration in 1533, … Continued
The church was built on a pagan temple dedicated to Mercurio Lanario, protector of wool, as deduced by a plaque which is embedded in the facade of the church. The temple was built by people linked to the family of Cicero and the woollen industry that was for centuries the main activity of Arpino. The … Continued
The church was built over a pagan temple dedicated to Apollo and the nine Muses, as deduced from the nine niches carved into the rocks near the altar and an inscription on a tombstone of 1700s. The first church probably dates from the VIII century, although the first written documents are in the Abbey of … Continued
The church outside the city walls is also known as “Church of Strammetta” and dates from the nineteenth century. It was the chapel of the princes of the family Gabrielli where family members were buried such as Augusta Bonaparte and Placido Gabrielli It was built in an elevated position and is entered through a spectacular … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century and is the oldest in town. It is in Romanesque style and for years had been abandoned and used as a stable to shelter animals. In 1900 the population with support of Prince Gabrielli found the funds to finance the restoration and in 1902 the church was reopened. … Continued
The Sant’Agata church stands on the highest part of Prossedi and dominates the town. Its construction began in 1655 and expanded in the late 1700s but work was interrupted several times due to lack of funds. The church was completed in 1829 and dedicated to St. Agatha, virgin and martyr. Of neoclassical style, it has … Continued
The church of San Sebastian dates back to 1572 and was a simple building with walls painted by the same artist as the monastery of St. Scholastica in Subiaco. Located inside is a sixteenth-century statue of the saint in coloured stucco. In 1851, a small organ was introduced. The simple facade of the building has … Continued
The church dates from the twelfth-thirteenth century and has three naves with three chapels on each side and a semicircular apse. The church was extensively rebuilt in 1860 with new interior and a new bell tower. On the high altar is an important gilded wooden tabernacle of the seventeenth century and a wooden crucifix of … Continued
Probably this church dates back to the Crusades but the first document that mentions it is from1658. The church was connected to the nearby hospital and for many years was used as a city cemetery. The church is very simple, one room with tiled floors and wooden ceiling and is home of the Arch-confraternity of … Continued
The history of the monastery and the church begins with an old castle that was cut in two in 1570 during the urban development works and the opening of Porta Morone. Probably the church was the lateral aisle of a larger building that was destroyed. On the main altar hangs an oil painting from the … Continued
The church is located near the old hospital in Sutri which now houses the museum. Having a church dedicated to San Rocco was very common because he is the patron saint of plague victims. The facade has a very simple style and the front door is covered with a lava stone frame that shows the … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century and has a simple style so that the building is almost indistinguishable from the neighbouring houses. Inside, above the altar, is a fifteenth-century fresco depicting the Madonna enthroned between San Sebastiano and San Rocco.
This Romanesque church in Sutri is one of the oldest and inside there is a fresco dedicated to Pope St. Sylvester and St. Anne and another depicting the Deposition of Jesus in the tomb. In the bell tower is a bell dating from 1046 donated by Matilde of Canossa at the Council of Sutri.
The church was founded in 1222 by Saint Francis and in the adjacent convent has lived St. Anthony of Padua. The church has a simple Romanesque style and was partially rebuilt after the bombings of World War II.
In 1207 Pope Innocent III consecrated the Old Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption bringing them the gift of a table with the Byzantine Christ still shown. The splendid Romanesque bell tower is of note. Inside the church has three naves and a baroque style contrasted by a splendid Cosmatesco floor. In the side … Continued
The sanctuary Madre della Grazie della Mentorella is an abbey served by the Congregation of the Polish Resurrection of Our Lord Jesus Christ and was built in Roman times by the emperor Constantine and is therefore the oldest in Italy. The emperor, according to Pope Sylvester I, had it built on the site of the … Continued
The church of Madonna is also the called delle Grazie, and dates back to the sixteenth century. It is said that it was built on the site where was found a painting of the Madonna. The story says that a farmer found this painting among the brambles and took it to the nearby church. During … Continued
The original church dates back to the fifteenth century as can be seen from Romanesque bell tower with three levels, and according to the story, it would have been built by Martino V Colonna. But the real surprise of the church takes place with a remake of the church in 1520 by Giuliano Capranica. With … Continued
The church and convent of San Pio were built on the ruins of an ancient Roman imperial villa probably inhabited by the emperor Antonino Pio. The villa was still visible until 1838 when it was described by Senni in his book ‘Memoirs of Genazzano’. In 1910 a mosaic floor was discovered which is now in … Continued
The present church was built over an earlier church of the tenth century that was converted into a cemetery and is located below the current one. The conversion began in 1356 by Giordano Colonna. The church was built to guard and venerate an image of Mary, called Mother of Good Counsel, which according to legend … Continued
The church is located on a steep staircase right next to ‘Porta Romana’. Its location inside the city walls and its style date back to the Middle Ages and probably belonged to the monastery of Subiaco, which at the time controlled much of the territory of this part of Lazio. In 1400 Antonio Colonna built … Continued
The original church dates from the thirteenth century and is mentioned in a document of 1277 although the current interior dates back to the eighteenth century refurbishment and the style is late Baroque. The facade, however, was rebuilt in 1829 and the strict lines are softened by the side niches with busts of St. Peter … Continued
The original building dates back to the Middle Ages and the church is mentioned for the first time in the statutes of Genazzano from 1277. It is dedicated to St. Nicholas of Bari, the patron of Genazzano, and was part of the castle. Perhaps here was baptized papa Martino V Colonna who, having become pope, … Continued
The small church is located in the square below the Colonna castle and was mentioned for the first time in a deed in 1356. Its simple form of a neoclassical temple reveals the many works of modification that have taken place over the centuries. The church consists of a nave, with small side chapels, which … Continued
The sanctuary is located inside a village founded in 996 after the Saracen invasions of the tenth century. In the Middle Ages it was owned by the Monastery of St. Paul and later by the Orsini family. In 1427, next to the abandoned castle, a church was built in honour of the Virgin, represented by … Continued
The Collegiate Church was built in 1515 on the remains of an older church. Note the magnificent Baroque bell tower of 1602. Of particular value are the choir and the wooden ceiling of the presbytery of 1582.
The church of St John is now in Baroque style, but its origins are medieval. The first building was built on the ancient walls near a city gate. The large vestibule was realized precisely on the remains of an ancient round tower. During the seventeenth century it was destroyed and the subsequent reconstruction in the … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century and was transformed in the nineteenth century, changing the orientation. On the left side of the facade can be seen the remains of the medieval building. The plan of the church is a Latin cross with a semicircular apse and eight chapels. The church has a dome that … Continued
The church has an austere stone facade, dating back to the mid-nineteenth century. The interior has a Latin cross plan and two side chapels. It is popularly known as the “Church of the friars,” the name by which it was called by the monks of the Congregation of the Most Precious Blood of Christ that … Continued
Church is in neoclassical style and its construction took place in two phases, beginning in 1912 and ending in 1964. It was built outside the ancient city walls, near a tower and close to the homonymous port. As per tradition, in fact, near the entry gates were two small churches of the sixteenth century dedicated … Continued
The church is located at the beginning of the path that leads to Monte Cacume. It was built by the Jesuits at the end of the nineteenth century near an older church that had been destroyed. It is imposing built with simple white local stone and is enriched by a valuable classical portal which you … Continued
The original church dates from 1000s and had been built just outside the Castrum. Initially it was used as a cemetery and inside stand out the different areas depending on the importance of the deceased: the priests in the sanctuary, members of Zilli family near the front door, and men, women and children in areas … Continued
The church is part of a small complex built around the fifteenth century to house the sick who were to be transferred to Tivoli. It was therefore the typical hospital-hospice built just outside the town walls. The interior has frescoes of the sixteenth century and a canvas of 1742 by Ranucci which represents the Annunciation.
This was the first of Gerano church built in the ninth century with the ‘Castrum’ where people had taken refuge to escape the Barbarians. It was in the Gothic style and had a separate bell tower. From a story by the Bishop of Tivoli in 1581 it states that the church was a small square … Continued
The building was originally a ‘Curtis Dominica’ in the VI century, constructed over a pagan sanctuary, testified by tombs of the second century BC, and became the church and religious centre around the tenth century. The church underwent a major renovation in the XVI century and in its interior a series of frescoes was produced … Continued
The sanctuary is located along the ancient road that connected the monastery of Subiaco to Montecassino, a path that was crossed by St. Benedict. During the 1700s a Benedictine monk came to this area and decided to create a painting in a rock niche that ran along a Roman road. The niche was made close … Continued
The monastery dates back to 1800 and was founded by the Franciscans. Today it is governed by the Augustinian Sisters and is a retreat and meditation centre for those who want to get away and live in the peace of the mountains in a spiritual place with a special atmosphere. Inside, there is woodwork in … Continued
In the mountains around Guarcino, hidden in the flourishing nature, are hermitages including the Hermitage of Sant’Agnello, where the saint lived for seven years in the cave, and became the patron saint of the town. The monk Sant’Agnello was born in Naples in 535 of a Neapolitan family with rich Syracusan origins, possibly related to … Continued
The crypt is in the basement rooms of a home and has direct access from an alley in the village centre not far from the gate. It is a unique environment covered by cross vaults with a marble column in the centre. The ceiling and part of the walls were frescoed at the end of … Continued
The monastery seems to have been founded by St. Benedict between 520 and 528 AD and a part of the building overlooks the river. In the courtyard there is a spring, from which flows the water of San Luca. The church has a single nave and has the characteristics of medieval religious buildings. In 1256 … Continued
The Sanctuary of the Madonna della Neve (Our Lady of the Snows) was entirely rebuilt after the last war, after the bombing of the road to Subiaco. Only the image of the Virgin of the Snows, that by tradition is attributed to the school of Giotto, was miraculously saved.
The church is located just outside the village to the south, and dates from the fourteenth century, although it has been remodelled several times. Inside one finds on the main altar the most important fresco of Guarcino, the mural of Our Lady of Loreto of the fifteenth century from the Perugino School of Peter of … Continued
The Church of San Michele Arcangelo was erected in the late middle ages on the ruins of the pagan temple of Mars and was modified in 1587 to house the Benedictine nuns. Despite numerous interventions from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, the Church keeps the rib vault bell tower, the only one in the Lazio … Continued
The church was consecrated in 1760 and is lined with late Baroque decorations. Inside there are numerous paintings of the 1700s, including a Ranucci, of the school of Cavalier d’Arpino, and some Balbi. Also, of great artistic importance are the wooden ceiling of the sacristy, the pulpit and the choir of the canons with the … Continued
The church is located in San Giovanni, an area inhabited since prehistoric times as evidenced by several archaeological relics found. The building has two naves with a beautiful altar located at the end of the nave.
The church of St John is a very old church located in the countryside and is currently abandoned. It consists of two churches: a larger dedicated Evangelist John, who stands on a pagan sanctuary and a smaller one built in the fifteenth century and dedicated to John the Baptist.
The building dates from the seventeenth century and consists of a single nave. On the inside there is a wooden statue of San Rocco, co-patron of the town.
The church was consecrated in 1966 and was dedicated to Our Lady of the Rosary. It was built on the basis of the will of the small communities from Vallecorsa who had settled, since the end of the 1800s on the mountain slopes of Campo Lupino, in a place that is called Contrada Macchione. The … Continued
The church was built in 1733 in an area where miraculous apparitions occurred. It was then rebuilt in 1872. The Madonna with the child in her arms appeared to the priest Antonio Petrone on March 4, 1721, and brought him healing of his illnesses. Later in April Our Lady appeared to another priest Archpriest Gentiles. … Continued
The church stands on the ruins of an old medieval church in the town centre. Inside is a single nave with side chapels in the Baroque style after several reconstructions. During the Christmas season it is decorated with an admirable presepe.
On the hill in Campigliano in 1500, the Virgin appeared to a young deaf-mute shepherd who regained his speech and hearing. The Virgin began to be venerated on the site of the miracle, and a Wayside Shrine was built. At the end of the sixteenth century the rural church was built that was accessible only … Continued
The Church of St. Biagio was built on an ancient pre-existent oratory in about 1200 and then rebuilt and extended around 1607. It was designed by a member of Theodoli family and was an example of their artistic merit. In 1830, two chapels were added that were decorated between 1927 and 1929. In the altarpiece … Continued
Around 800 all the hills around Rome began to be inhabited by people fleeing the incursions of the Saracens. The first nucleus of San Vito formed around this church and this suggests that before one thousand here there was a rural chapel dedicated to the saint. The present church dates from 1725 and has a … Continued
On the top of the fortress rock is the church of Santa Maria de Arce that took its name from its location. Arx is Latin for fortress, high citadel. The church originally was a simple single-nave building attached to the castle and was built only for the soldiers. Only later was it opened to the … Continued
The church is octagonal and is dedicated to St. Rocco probably in memory of the plague. San Rocco was born in France in 1295 and died August 16, 1327 and is the patron saint and destroyer of the plague. San Sebastian, however, is a martyr who, as San Vito, died during the persecutions of the … Continued
The church dates from the fifteenth century and during the subsequent centuries the building has undergone various transformations and reconstructions. Today it is flanked by the Franciscan monastery and a beautiful stone fountain.
The church of Santa Maria Assunta, near the baronial castle was restored in 1856, at the behest of Pope Leo XIII and has neoclassical lines. The facade is characterized by a large portico with four columns with Ionic capitals and a pediment with the coat of arms of the Pecci. The façade is characterized by … Continued
The abbey is located 5 km from the town centre in a beautiful panoramic position in the Sacco Valley. It was built on a Benedictine monastery of the twelfth century. The convent chapel was dedicated to Santa Maria di Corniano, because the Virgin Mary appeared to a shepherd in the branches of a dogwood tree. … Continued
The origins of the church are ancient but not known. It is mentioned for the first time in a document of 1096. It was originally located in the middle of a forest, outside the walls and was dedicated to Our Lady. In the thirteenth century, it was restored in the Cistercian style. Further changes were … Continued
The church is located in Piazza Municipio and was built in the fourteenth century by Annibaldo IV de Ceccano. The Cardinal stipulated in her will (1348) the construction of a church just outside the walls that would be entrusted to the Minor Friars. At the beginning of the sixteenth century, with the arrival of the … Continued
The Church was built on the remains of polygonal walls of pre-Roman times. The first news we have is from the eighth century, when it is destroyed by the siege of the Lombards. After 1000 it was often mentioned in the Annales Ceccanenses (Chronicles of Ceccano Counts). The church appears in 1224 in the will … Continued
The church of Santa Maria in Rijeka is located in an area rich in archaeological remains from the Roman era. Among them, a pagan temple dedicated to Faustina, wife of Roman emperor Antoninus Pius. The shrine was built by the Counts De Ceccano on a previous Romanesque church in the twelfth century. The church was … Continued
The Abbey of Fossanova is in a medieval village in the Amaseno valley and takes its name from an ancient waste water drain called Fossa Nova. The church was founded on the remains of a Roman villa of the first century AD which was sold in 1134 by Pope Innocent II to some monks of … Continued
The church of Sant’Antonio Abate is Gothic-Cistercian style and is among the most original of Priverno: it is a National Monument for the integrity of the original characteristics. According to an inscription carved in a stone gateway, the church dates back to 1336 and was part of a hospital run by the Antonian monks. The … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century and was part of an old Dominican convent. The facade is of very simple local stone enriched only by a small decoration above the entrance door and a small bell-tower. The interior has a single nave with four side chapels dating from the seventeenth century and has a … Continued
The cathedral is located in the main square right next to the Town Hall Square, and was consecrated in 1183 by Pope Lucius III, the pope of the Order of Cistercians who clashed with Frederick I and who condemned the heresy of the Cathars and the Waldensians. The original church dates back to the twelfth … Continued
The church is the oldest together with that of St. Benedict, and dates from the ninth century. It was partially destroyed by a fire in the twelfth century and later rebuilt in a late Gothic-Romanesque style. The facade is very simple, the entrance to the church is through a portico. The church is connected to … Continued
The church of St Benedict was the first building of the ‘new Priverno’, i.e. the medieval centre that was just being formed around the castle and this church that was built by the Benedictines in the seventh century. The external facade is made of local stone with a very simple style and a part of … Continued
The story goes that this convent was founded in 1223 directly by Saint Francis on an old farm structure of the Benedictine monks. Francis was on his way to visit the Sacro Speco when he was struck by the peace and beauty of Bellegra countryside, with the green of chestnut and beech trees. Here he … Continued
This modern church was built in reinforced concrete in 1972 after the demolition of a former temple of 1500. It is located in the main square of the town next to the massive city walls.
The church dates from 1200 and was originally dedicated to Saint Lucia. The current building was renovated around the turn of the seventeenth century and its interior is a single nave with four side niches. The roof is a barrel vault with windows that illuminate the interior decorated with stucco. Above the central altar there … Continued
The chapel is a small private temple built in the classic eighteenth-century style that recalls the Greek temples. It is located in the centre of town, at the highest point. The chapel was built in 1756. It has a single room with a central altar and a painting of Saint Lucia with other saints.
The church was built around 1620 at the behest of Cardinal Borghese. The church has a nave, rectangular layout and ends with the presbytery and the choir in walnut. It has five altars: the high altar, decorated with stucco, is dedicated to the Holy Name of Jesus, to the Blessed Virgin and St. Anne. The … Continued
Located at the beginning of the town, it was built at the behest of Orinzia Colonna probably on a pre-existing religious building, and was consecrated in 1591. The plan is a Latin cross and is enriched by eleven altars adorned with seventeenth century paintings. On the high altar there is a painting of the Virgin … Continued
The exact date of foundation of the church of St Stephen is not known. The style of the bell tower, with its elegant windows, suggests that it goes back to the thirteenth century. It is situated in the middle of the town and after a fire, which occurred in 1557, and its subsequent abandonment, it … Continued
It is one of the most symbolic and ancient churches of Artena. It is situated in the highest part of the town and it can be reached only on foot. It was built in 1100, but after being struck by lightning, it was demolished and rebuilt in 1659 by Prince Don Giovanni Battista Borghese. Of … Continued
The year of foundation of this church is not known, but it seems that it dates back to the time of the Barbarian invasions, between the sixth and eighth centuries, when the inhabitants fled from the plain and took refuge on the mountainside building there the first houses. It may have been the place of … Continued
The church dates from the year 1395 begun by the people who asked Cardinal Bartolomeo for the opportunity to build a church at their own expense. The building was completed in 1445 and was expanded over the years with side chapels in different times and ways, as evidenced by their asymmetry. On 25 May 1687, … Continued
The Chapel of San Biagio is just before a gateway to the town and it was a necessary passage for those who entered the country on the side of Sora. It was built in the eighteenth century with a single nave and a small dome. It was the chapel of the Ferrante family.
This, the first church dedicated to the Prophet St. Simeon dates back to 1100 and since the beginning has enjoyed many papal privileges. Of this original church only the bell tower is visible with the church having been redone, for the first time in 1527 and later around 1700. The church was enriched with paintings … Continued
Built around 1516, the Benedictine monastery of St. Nicholas has been for centuries an important religious centre, also known as the “little Montecassino”. In fact, in 1720 Pope Clement XIV, who had spent here a year here as a novitiate, enriched it with numerous works of art. The building is late baroque Roman style with … Continued
The church was designed in 1936 by Eng. Riccardo Morandi, and completed in 1937. Its lines follow the Colleferro castle. The church is made of reinforced concrete and inside is a crucifix made of bronze cast of Donatello. The apse of the church is dominated by a large mosaic representing the patron saint Santa Barbara … Continued
The temple was founded by the original design of 1916 by architect Oddini and was at its core to service buildings intended for factory workers of the rapidly grown ammunition works during the First World War.
The temple was inaugurated in 1947.
The church was founded in 1997 and its modern architecture is characterized by an interesting use of reinforced concrete and clay bricks. The altar is made of stone and is adorned with an artistic cross carved in low relief. The statue of St. Bruno was built in 2005 by Roberto Campagna while the right of … Continued
The church was founded in 1956, following the expansion of the city and is entrusted to the Frati Minori Conventuali. The building has a central plan of a Greek cross, and the facade of reinforced concrete is characterized by a curvilinear shape in the form of great triumphal arch with an air bell on the … Continued
In 1899, after a petition, the Church of St. Joachim was built on an area donated by the Doria family and with the contribution of Pope Leo XIII. The church was finished in 1923 and has a simple style with a unique octagonal lay out. The building is decorated with a bronze door with images … Continued
Of ancient origin, partially destroyed by bombing during World War II, it has been recently renovated and is located in the town centre, in the square of its name, where you will come across a narrow alley. The church is in the Romanesque style with a basilica plan with three naves. It has a central … Continued
The Franciscan complex is located on the upper side of the town, 850 meters above sea level, surrounded by oaks and laurels. It is a particularly attractive place for the natural setting in which it stands and also for the atmosphere of recollection and spirituality that surrounds it. Legend has it that it was founded … Continued
The church is located at 976 meters above sea level to the highlands of Arcinazzo. It remained for many years in a state of neglect and was used as a shelter for livestock. It has recently been restored and in the square in front was set up a comfortable equipped rest area. It was once … Continued
Located in dell’Arringo area, it is a small and simple church of ancient origin. At that time, when there were not yet cemeteries away from residential areas, they interred the dead at the church. The building has a single nave with an altar in Baroque style dedicated to the Immaculate Virgin.
The church and convent of St John are located in the countryside of Piglio, on the side of the new cemetery, and are governed by the Minor Friars. The convent was built in 1620 and over the years it was enlarged and modified. The Church has a single nave and was built in 1632. It … Continued
The church of San Rocco is located on the southern outskirts of Piglio, near the old railway station, now abandoned, which connected Rome to Fiuggi. It is a building of ancient origin and was the site of burial of the victims of the plague epidemic in 1656. The Church is made up of three rooms … Continued
The conetta (small religious building) is located along the Old Valley Road, just before the Church of St. Rocco and is actually a small chapel. Inside there is a small altar with the image of Our Lady of the Rosary, and once wayfarers found shelter there to pray or to sustain themselves at night or … Continued
It is a small church located in the north of Piglio area. It is dedicated to St. Antonio Abate, a hermit, who in twenty years, gave away all his possessions to live an ascetic life. He was a founder of monasticism, so it is said, Father of the monks.
Saint Lucia is a recent era church with a single nave and a very simple interior. It was restored in 1957 and is dedicated to the Virgin of Syracuse: Saint Lucia.
Sanctuary II, also called the “Most Holy Mother” is situated in the lower part of Piglio and there Our Lady of the Roses is venerated with great devotion. The image of the Madonna is set on a rock and protected by a votive chapel. Every year on October 30, in memory of the liberation from … Continued
The St. Peter’s church and the Capuchin Monastery are located on a hill, not far from the historic centre of the city, where once stood a temple dedicated to the goddess Bellona, a Roman goddess who is sometimes represented as the wife of the god Mars. In the first centuries of Christianity the temple was … Continued
The church is located outside the city walls near the gate of the same name and was a stopping place for the farmers on their way between the city and the fields. It consists of a unique surrounding and has a simple facade with a main door, two side windows and a central window. Inside … Continued
The church of San Matteo dates from the thirteenth century and was connected to a hospital and an orphanage. The building was transformed in the 1600s and today is the point from which, each year, a procession commences that commemorates Good Friday.
The church owes its name to a medieval hospital that went into disuse with the opening of the large hospital of San Benedetto. Inside there are frescoes dating from the fifteenth century, including a Madonna with pronounced belly, a Pietà attributed to Antoniazzo Romano and a Magdalene. The building is privately owned.
The church is located outside the town along the road to Fumone, and is typical of the religious building that was being built in the fourteenth century by expanding a previous sacred shrine. The building has a single nave and inside it are interesting frescoes with twelve representations of Mary hence the name of the … Continued
The church dates from the late eleventh century and in 1196 was dedicated to the penitent Magdalene. The building is located outside the town, at the foot of Mount Sant’Angelo in Formis, and was used as a leper colony that was active until the seventeenth century. The façade is preceded by a portico and has … Continued
The church is located outside the city center on the road to Fiuggi and dates back to the thirteenth century. In the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries it has suffered a major resructuring with the entrance moved to the opposite side and the construction of a neo-Gothic facade. The interior presents itself with both styles, that … Continued
The small church was built in 1642 by Giovanni Antonio Marra, perhaps to fulfill a vow made during a pilgrimage to Loreto. In 1869 works were carried out to lower the entry and the internal level, following the placement of the road Via del Colle. The church was destroyed by an army allied bombing in … Continued
The Church of the Piarists Order of Poor Clerics Regular of the Mother of God of the Pious Schools was built between 1734 and 1745 on the plans of Brother Benedict Margariti from Manduria and is dedicated to the Wedding of the Virgin. In the eighteenth century Alatri went through a prosperous period thanks to the … Continued
The church is located in the medieval area of Alatri called Piagge and was built between the tenth and eleventh centuries in a single nave in the Romanesque style. In 1331 the building was expanded with the addition of the left aisle and sacristy. The Romanesque style is reflected in the simplicity of the external … Continued
The church dates from the late tenth century and is in the Romanesque style of the era. It was modified and enlarged during the period of the commons, in 1284, by Cardinal Gottifredo of Raynaldo according to the Italian Gothic style. The date and the name of Cardinal are carved in Gothic letters on two … Continued
The church was built in the second half of the XIII century in Gothic style and the facade has a portal with pointed arches and a rose window with radial columns. The building and the attached convent were made by a community of Franciscan monks. The convent is now an exhibition hall and in the … Continued
The collegiate church of Santa Maria Maggiore dates from the fifth century and was built on the foundations of a pagan temple dedicated to Venus. The renovations in 1200 give it the current appearance of the French Gothic with a large rose window built in the early fourteenth century by French workers. The special feature … Continued
The cathedral is located right on top of the Acropolis, on the remains of an earlier temple dedicated to Saturn, the mythical founder of Alatri. The buildings include the Church of St. Paul and the adjacent Bishopric whose earliest records date back to 930, the early medieval period. Both buildings have been extensively modified in … Continued
The church, dating from the thirteenth century has been greatly altered over the centuries. The façade has two steep flights of stairs in limestone, while the interior has a Romanesque layout, consisting of robust pillars and wooden trusses. Of the original church furnishings remain only two stone holy water fonts and some inscriptions dated XVI … Continued
Built by three lay founders, it was inhabited for a short time by the Cistercian fathers. According to tradition, the Cistercians abandoned the monastery in the early fourteenth century, to join the confreres of Sermoneta. The Valvisciolo abbey area became the cause of conflict between the secular community. Today, of the Valvisciolo Abbey only the … Continued
St Peter’s church was initially built in 1610 at the expense of Cardinal Pietro Aldobrandini. The structure, located in the square, consists of three parts constructed in different eras: the central part, the church with the convent, was wanted by Cardinal Aldobrandini early in the seventeenth century; one on the right, the chapel of St. … Continued
Significantly reowrked under the pontificate of Pope Leo XIII, of the ancient furniture only the two “olea sanctum” remain with the coat of arms of Cardinal Amato Conti, Lords of Carpineto in the fifteenth century. The interior, a basilica with an apse, has three naves separated by arches. In the rotunda there is a Madonna … Continued
The church building dates back to 1483, and is an act of thanksgiving to the Virgin for the termination of the terrible plague that raged at that time in Rome and its surroundings. In the course of time the church has been subjected to various restoration interventions. In 1657, the l’Immacolata Concezione was declared patroness … Continued
Also known as the Church of the Sacred Heart it is dedicated to St. John the Baptist and St. John the Evangelist and was built in 1753. The church is located in the heart of Carpineto in Piazza Regina Margherita, and presents a massive and imposing structure with three limestone portals, made by local stonemasons. … Continued
The Church of St Sebastian was originated in the seventeenth century as a votive chapel dedicated to Saint Sebastian and then it was partially restored in 1902 by Pope Leo XIII. It has a chiselled stone facade and a small bell tower by architect Berucci. It has a single space with a small vestry on … Continued
The small rural church was built by private citizens in 1786, on the ruins of an ancient hermitage destroyed in the seventeenth century. It has a single nave, roof trusses, and the altar has paintings by Gaetano Nenci. The church is accessed by a large limestone staircase with a portico on which there are inscriptions, … Continued
The Romanesque church of St Michael dates from the thirteenth century and is located near the Civic Tower, built in the same period, and known as the Aldobrandini. Inside is a frescoed chapel with an altar and a copy the ‘Flagellation of St. Michael the Archangel’ by Guido Reni.
Built in 1882 by architect Francesco Fontana at the behest of Pope Leo XIII, it is located on the square that bears the name of the Pontiff. In neoclassical style, it has three entrances with a tetrastyle portico topped by a pediment: the interior is a basilica structure with three naves and a barrel vault, … Continued
The church dates from the thirteenth century and has an adjoining convent. It was originally dedicated to St. Anthony and belonged to the Antonian order. In the fourteenth century it passed to the Order of Saint Augustine, who became the patron of the city, and it was dedicated to him. After being bandoned during the … Continued
The church is dedicated to Maria De Matteis, a saint born in Ciociaria and who in Acuto gave rise to the order of nuns that takes her name. Maria was born in 1805 in Vallecorsa that was then the border town of the Papal States with the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies. In 1834 she founded … Continued
The church is very old and is located in the vineyards and in the past on July 22 the inhabitants of Acuto organized a party in honour of the Saint. You can get to the church by passing under a pointed arch of a wall that encloses the area. In fact, next to the church … Continued
The church of St Peter is in the heart of the historical centre at the highest point of Acuto and is in Lombard – Byzantine style. It dates from the thirteenth century, although its present appearance is due to the many renovations over the centuries. The building suffered collapses due to earthquakes and lightning, and … Continued
The Collegiate Church is a beautiful neoclassical church overlooking the village of Acuto. Its original building dates from the late eleventh century and the building has undergone many changes over the centuries. The first document that mentions the church is a bull of Pope Boniface VIII in 1290 that granted indulgences to those who had … Continued
The church is dedicated to Saints Sebastian and Rocco and was built around the twelfth century, to ward off disease, famine and plague epidemics. St. Rocco is the patron saint of lepers and in almost every village there is a church dedicated to him and pictures of him with his dog. San Rocco was born … Continued
The church is located in the heart of the historical centre of Rocca Priora and was sponsored by the Savelli family. It was consecrated in 1464 and dedicated to St. Rocco. The interior has three naves, with vaults supported by a double row of octagonal columns in peperino stone with stylized foliage capitals. The rose … Continued
For the population of Colle di Fuori is a Church in ‘alpine style’ built in 1930 to a design by engineer Carlo Strocchi. The façade is characterized by the bulk of the high bell tower which is accessed directly from within the church. Inside you can see an ornate altar that is frontal gilded stucco … Continued
This small sanctuary dates from the late sixteenth century, and has a single nave with a coffered ceiling decorated with five arches that form part of their respective chapels. On the main altar apse is a copy of the Snow Madonna venerated in the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore in Rome. The facade of 1858 … Continued
The chapel of Our Lady of Zancati is located at the bottom of a valley south of Paliano and is carved into the rock. The chapel predates the fifteenth century and was built around a cave. Until 1632 in the chapel was kept a fresco of the Virgin of Zancati which was transferred to the … Continued
Perhaps the monastery was founded around a small church dedicated to the Virgin, that was a home for hermits who were guarding it. The image of the Madonna was called ‘The Puglianella’ because it was thought that it had been brought from the Puglia region by two soldiers. In the area of Santa Maria Pugliano … Continued
The church was consecrated in 1619 and, with the adjoining monastery, named after a former monastery built in 1243 by the bishop of Palestrina, targeted the Cistercian nuns who dedicated it to St. Peter the Apostle. In 1300 Pope Boniface VIII closed the monastery that then between the thirteenth and sixteenth centuries became a Benedictine … Continued
The building is a chapel with a small altar and a mural of large dimensions that depicts the Madonna and Child, two angels and four figures. The chapel was built in the sixteenth century by Marcantonio D’Azzia, a soldier serving the Colonna family and in 1754 was named after Santa Rosa and Saint Eleuterio Pope … Continued
The church was founded in the sixteenth century by expansion of a country chapel dedicated to St. Michael even though it has always been called the church of Santa Maria of Colleberto La Cona. This name comes from ‘icon’ indicating an image on an altar. The building is small on a single aisle. The church was … Continued
The church was purchased in 1083 by the abbot of Subiaco Giovanni V, who at that time bought several rural churches with the purpose to obtain annuities. The purchase is reported in Subiaco Chronicles showing precisely the activity of the abbot who, in Paliano, had already bought the monasteries of Santo Stefano and San Pancrazio (perhaps … Continued
The small church built outside the perimeter of the walls in the eighteenth century appears to be dedicated to three saints: St. Rocco, the Blessed Virgin and St. Sebastiano. The small church consists of one room and has only one altar with a 1780 altarpiece by Giacomo Mango . The dedication to San Rocco was … Continued
The present church of St Anne was built in 1931 after the collapse of the previous one dedicated originally to Santa Maria della Neve (Mary of the Snows) and finally to St. Anna. On that date the building was extended by ten meters, the facade was re-oriented and the bell tower was added. The new … Continued
The original 1224 church was completely rebuilt by Prince Marcantonio Colonna II from 1569 and is dedicated to the reorganization of Paliano. The prince died in 1584 and at that time in the church there was only an underground crypt especially for the burial of the Colonna family. The family tomb was finished in the … Continued
This church was built in the eighteenth century by expanding a small temple dedicated to a sacred icon and San Lorenzo. The church has a single nave with side chapels. Behind the altar is the fresco of the fifteenth century of the Madonna with child which is the only part that remains of the church … Continued
A first church dedicated to Saint Lucia was built in Frosinone in the sixteenth century by Bishop Ennio Filonardi as a place to bury those condemned to death. In its place was later built the building of the Bank of Italy. A new church of Saint Lucia was built in 1840 in the shape of … Continued
The church of the Annunciation was an important parish since 1785 but was subsequently destroyed twice: during World War II by the American bombing and in 1984 by an earthquake.
The original church dates from the ninth century and then had extensive restoration work in 1747. It has an octagonal floor plan and altarpiece representing Saint Magnus with St. Hormisdas. You can recognize the profile of the city of Frosinone with its fortress. Inside there are frescoes depicting the Virgin Mary and Child with St. … Continued
The shrine was built is a small rural church that was built at the end of the sixteenth century following a miraculous event. It was May 10, 1675, and the Madonna began to sweat. The devotion of the faithful was so strong that in one year they built a full church sacristy, bell tower and … Continued
The church of St Benedict dates back to 1134 and was then rebuilt in Baroque style after 1750. The interior has a single nave, covered with a barrel vault with side windows. The sides of the aisle are richly decorated side chapels. Under the baroque altar there are the remains of a martyr. Among the … Continued
Like many buildings of the Catholics religion, even the cathedral was built on a pagan temple. We are at the highest point of Frosinone and here stood the acropolis of ancient Frusino with the temple dedicated to the god Mars. Already in the eighth century, the church was the cathedral of an ancient diocese of … Continued
The hermitage is resting on a rocky ridge at an altitude of 1100 meters and is a pleasant stop for those who, following the paths, want to climb Mount Scalambra on foot. The Benedictine monastery dates back to 600 and was probably founded by St. Benedict in person, during a contemplative stay in the company … Continued
In Serrone there are two churches dedicated to St. Anthony of Padua at the beginning and end of the village: “ammonte” and “Abballe”. The first is modern and the second, that of Abballe, dates back to the beginning of 1900. It is located at the intersection leading to San Quirico.
The sanctuary sits right on top of the Scalambra mountain at an altitude of 1420 meters and is easily reached by a narrow road. The sanctuary has been created in the mountain rock and is the destination of pilgrimages and gatherings and it is said that here Our Lady of Peace appeared to the visionary … Continued
The church dates back to 1788 and was built for the small community that had formed around the water spring in “La Forma”, where, in 1859, the “Brotherhood of Our Lady of Sorrows” was established.
The church is located in the historic centre of Serrone and is a small building with a single nave. The front door is a beautiful coloured ceramic work that represents the Madonna. On the altar is a fresco representing the Madonna of Loreto. In the sacristy was set up a small museum of historical relics … Continued
Like many churches dedicated to St. Rocco, patron of plague victims, the church was built during a plague epidemic. The story of St. Rocco and his dog who managed to overcome the plague have made him the patron to ask for miracles during these crises. Probably the church was built during the plague of 1592. … Continued
The church of San Quirico is simple and was completed in 1607. It is adjacent to a building that was entrusted to the “Zoccolanti brothers” or Franciscans. The friars were granted land to earn an income and maintain the church. In the church in March 1650, a serious matter occurred about which there is no record except … Continued
The church is located in an alley in the centre of the town and the facade blends with the neighbouring houses. From a 1754 document it seems that the church was already operating in 1192 and was under the diocese of the bishop of Palestrina. The church underwent extensive restoration and was rebuilt in 1600. … Continued
The church tower is located at some distance from the church on a hill that overlooks the square. Its strange position is due to the fact that the original small church of Santa Maria was located on this hill. When the population grew and there was need to build a new church the old one … Continued
The small church near the cemetery dates back to the eleventh century and was part of a Cistercian monastery. The ruins of the monastery can be seen by visiting the cemetery where also were found ossuaries of the monastery. The church has a rectangular plan and is characterized by two areas: a vestibule or porch … Continued
The church of St John the Baptist was built in semi-Gothic style. It was then remodeled in the eighteenth century in Baroque style. It stands at the bottom of the Via Fontanella at the southern end of town and can be reached either directly by road or by a path and steps from the town … Continued
The church is eighteenth-century, and the facade was rebuilt in 1966 in brick, and fortunately later renovated with a plaster render. The three bronze doors of the church were executed by the sculptor Pietro Gismondi Anagni (1906-2003). Inside you can admire a beautiful painted ceiling and a peaceful environment against the bustle through the square.