The Way of St. Francis is a path of religious and natural interest that crosses the Sacred Valley of Rieti where St. Francis of Assisi passed and where he had founded four sanctuaries. It consists of eight stages and is 80 km long. The main points of interest are: the four shrines, the old town … Continued
On Monte Nero, there are traces of the ancient settlement of the Volsci consisting of a large wall circle made of very large stone placed without mortar. The wall probably dates back to the 7th century BC and had three doors that allowed access inside and in some sections it is over 3,00 metres high … Continued
It is the highest peak of all the Ausoni Mountains with its peak at 1,116m. You can walk up and along the paths where you will encounter traditional activities of the pastoral economy: from milking to production of caciotte, ricotta, marzoline, all made according to traditional techniques. You can see the typical huts, the ‘pagliari’, … Continued
On the Aurunci Mountains, in the Santa Croce area, not far from the homonymous spring, lies this deep 360 m abyss. The abyss is one of the deepest in Lazio and is popular with cavers.
Castro dei Volsci was one of the towns of the Pontifical State bordering the Bourbon Kingdom and in the mountains there are still visible many border markers. Every year, in a special recurrence in April, volunteer groups symbolically re-establish the ancient border signs.
There is a permanent exhibition dedicated to Nino Manfredi, the great Italian actor born in Castro dei Volsci. The exhibition is located in the Clock Tower that houses a Cultural Centre and tells in photography the public and private life of the great Italian actor.
In Santa Maria del Piano, in the lower area of Castro dei Volsci, numerous remains of several rustic Roman villas were found, namely the villas where agricultural products were grown. Settlements include thermal springs and a necropolis, and operated between the 1st century BC and the 7th century AD when the arrival of Barbarians and … Continued
The municipal theatre is one of the cultural and social centres of the town and has a rich billboard of events and events that also present young theatre companies.
The new Cave Municipal Theatre within the park of Villa Clementi was inaugurated in 2012 . The design of modern organic architecture with its decagonal shape and wooden shell fits perfectly with the nature of the park. The theatre is one of the cultural and social centres of Cave life and has an important season … Continued
The small stone arch bridge is located along the old road that connects Palestrina with Cave and is perfectly preserved. According to a local story, Pope Urban VIII travelled over this bridge on his journey between Palestrina and Genazzano. The road was then abandoned with the construction of new infrastructure in the 18th century.
The stretch of Via Francigena passing through Cave is very impressive because it crosses one of the entrance doors to the medieval village of Cave that had been abandoned for years. The ruins of the bridge on the culvert, the medieval narrow street, the entrance arch and the side constructions give birth to a fascinating landscape … Continued
They are the remains of a Roman Republican era rustic villa that is located on the southern slopes of the Drago Hill border with Alatri. The farm consists of a large quadrangular plate, with terracing walls both in polygonal “IV maniera” and in an uncertain type. The remains of a rectangular bathtub that was probably … Continued
It is the ancient path that in the past was the only fortified route to access the Castle of Fumone. The path starts from “Volubro”, the pond at the foot of Mount Fumone and comes to the top through the steep slopes. Along the way you will find the small church of the Madonna degli … Continued
The path leads the visitor into a natural, rich and significant territory. The lake, with its mysterious history only recently understood, is characterized by the presence of several islets, the richness and diversity of vegetation, birdlife heritage and the particular water dynamics. The testimony of karst geology is very interesting. Trekking is organized by the … Continued
In Fumone, you can go for a night walk in the historic centre, which in addition to traditional historical and archaeological information gives you special feelings. You can try the unique situation of a medieval village perfectly integrated within the city walls overlooking an incredible view.
The path starts from Fumone and follows the mountain to trace back to the footsteps of those who have come in the past. The route follows the ancient fortified path, which recalls Celestino V.
Just past Porta Romana in the old town, on the left is the Baron’s Tavern. Suddenly, by opening the door, one is catapulted back in time with wooden tables and benches worn by time, damsels, carafes and ancient relics that furnish a room of history. A perfume of roast meat wraps us completely. On the … Continued
Walking in the historic centre you come across walls with phrases and poems from authors from around the world. They are stories of life that give a moment of reflection and add a modern flavour to the past.
Because of its proximity to Olevano, Bellegra has seen the passage of numerous artists who during the 19th century were travelling to Italy to paint that unique mix of natural beauties and historical millennial testimonies. Here is a list of some of the painters who have immortalized Bellegra’s landscapes in their paintings: Gasparo Dughet, … Continued
Inside the historic centre, in one of the medieval palaces, you can visit an ancient olive oil mill used to produce oil and that still retains the original mills. Along with the museum there is a complete description of the life of medieval people and their rhythms in harmony with nature.
For many years Trivigliano has been known for its unique ten-pin bowling facility in the area, known as Stardust. The property is state-of-the-art and hosts national competitions. The centre has 14 professional alleys and certified instructors are available to start practicing this sports discipline, recognized by CONI. It is possible to rent shoes and sports … Continued
Facing the Sanctuary of Our Lady of the Star (Ferentino), on one side of Mount Corniano, lies the “Cave of Corniano”. The cave is excavated in the miocene limestone and always contains a certain amount of water to which, during the summer, the local people of the surroundings are drawn and only rarely is it … Continued
One of the meeting points of Trivigliano is the small square in front of the church of Santa Maria Assunta which has a view overlooking the entire Anticolana Valley. From here you can see perfectly all the other castles and towers that were part of the defensive system. Oe’s view is attracted to the waters … Continued
This castle appears in the texts but unfortunately the ruins have not yet been found. The castle is mentioned in the 1115 Pope Easter II bull, where it is said to belong to the monastery of St. Benedict and to be near Pisoniano Civitella. Abbot Pietro IV (1123-1145) names it in Chronicorum Sublacense (the chronicles … Continued
Next to a small artificial lake near the chapel of Sant’Antonio, a small theatre of semi-circular steps has been constructed with a stage where actors and musicians can perform in front of the lake. The scenery is striking and the area is also used for other events.
At the foot of the hill on which Torre Cajetani rises, in a flat area, there is a source of mineral water that has the same characteristics as the water of Fiuggi. The waters of this source come from 15 springs, which become 5 streams, flowing into two ponds. These waters have become famous in … Continued
In the mountainous area above the inhabited centre there is a small karst mountain pond that is intended for drinking by animals. You can reach the area through a walking path passing by the SS Trinity church. The trail is easy and suitable for all nature lovers.
On a wall at the entrance of the village, just past the entrance door, there is a Mussolini head painted. In all these years people have tried to erase it, but it always re-emerges. Still today, you can see the profile quite clearly.
St. Benedict was the founder of monasticism and Patron of Europe. Along with his sister Santa Scolastica, he was born in Norcia, Umbria, in 480 and he died in the Cassino monastery in 547. On the parallel roads, the two twins renounced their wealth and began to base their religious orders following what has become … Continued
You can still visit the bunkers made by the German army during the Second World War in the rocks and obviously at the most scenic spots. Bellegra was a privileged observation point and was crossed by the Cesar defensive line, the last to fall after the allied landing at Anzio.
In Windsor, Ontario, Canada, a group of immigrants mainly from Comino Valley made a copy of the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Canneto. The façade is identical to that of Settefrati but the rear structures are different. Ciociaro Club of Windsor has maintained close ties with the land of origin and the same Italian anniversaries … Continued
Among the eighteenth-century glazed tile decorations of Villa Gallio at Posta Fibreno can be found unprecedented views of all the countries that were part of the Duchy of Alvito. The Gallio family had purchased the Duchy in 1595 with the permission of Pope Gregory XIII. Among them is also Settefrati which is recognized by the … Continued
Along the path that connects the Canneto Valley with Settefrati is a rock with the imprint of the head of the statue of the Black Madonna. The legend says that after the statue was found, some shepherds tried to take her to the town, but as they moved away from the valley, the statue grew … Continued
On the slopes of the mountains you can spot a child’s head. It is not unusual to find people and tourists who move the rocks in search of the baby’s profile
Starting from Settefrati and the Valle di Canneto you climb up to the Val di Forca Resuni at 2059 meters above sea level and then descend into Abruzzo into the charming village of Civitella Alfedena. Along the way, you cross a beech and the famous’ ‘Rose Valley’ where you can meet chamois and mountain deer. … Continued
The river is born right near the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Canneto and probably has its name fromthe ancient pagan goddess Mephite of the ancient pre-Roman people of the Sannites. Mephyton was the goddess of black water and clean water, probably the word ‘mephytic’, which indicates a particular strong smell, is connected to his … Continued
The Anticolana Valley and the Ernici Mountains are ideal for daily excursions and horseback riding. The trails link Fiuggi with the nearby villages or wind up in the most picturesque natural sites either along the shores of Lake Canterno or in the woods. In the area around Fiuggi, there are equestrian schools with expert guides … Continued
Spa, water and body wellness are the essence of Fiuggi, which in recent years has expanded the concept of wellness by offering a wide choice of pleasant experiences. You can enjoy a psycho-physical well-being through a spa with massages of different types, meditation centres, and art and music events. The Fiuggi accommodation facilities are equipped … Continued
The beautiful Anticolana Valley with its ancient villages and the Ernici Mountains are the natural backdrops for cycling enthusiasts. From Fiuggi you can cycle at least 7 trails each linked to an appealing place. Lake Canterno: Easy to Mediumdifficulty on paved road of 25 km with an altitude change of 300 m. The trail goes … Continued
The fountains extend throughout a 14-hectare park with majestic trees. Inside is the Teatro delle Fonti that plays a prestigious role in the national congressional scene with musical performances of great value. The park is equipped with tennis courts, bowls, mini golf and ping pong. It is frequented mainly in the afternoon and visitors are … Continued
Turning around the streets of the old town you come to a square called Piazza Castello which seems to be right in the centre of a castle. The original buildings, the bell tower of the church, which was the ancient tower, and the entrance to the palace of the lord were later recognized by the … Continued
Inside a building in the historic centre, in the heart of the original castle near Palazzo Falconi, there is one of the labyrinthic entrances of the seat of Pietro Margani (or Morgani) with the title of the captain of the crossbow troops of Pope Julius II to whom in 1516 was Entrusted the Fiuggi fiefdom … Continued
The theatre dates back to 1910 and is characterised by twin domes and stuccos and decorations combining Classicism with the taste of the current time. It was part of the Grand Hotel Girani, realized by the Giovenale architect along with the casino and the accommodation. It has been tastefully refurbished in the 1970s, respecting an … Continued
During the war between Fiuggi and Guarcino for the control of a lush valley, the famous captain of the Guarniz, Bonetto Floridi secretly walked through enemy lines to go to see a famous sorceress who lived in the caves of Fiuggi. With a sibilline phrase, the sorceress predicted to the leader that “he would win … Continued
Since the 1990s, Fiuggi has been equipped with a large sports centre run by CONI for training athletes and important teams. In the summer you can often encounter Series A teams in the Italian championship.
In a corner of the city wall, a small niche with a statue of San Domenico was built, just near some rocks that are said to have the footprints of the saint. Especially the sign of an elbow and a hand he left on the rock while kneeling in prayer to get rid of the … Continued
In the mountains of Vico, the evidence of a real dinosaur of about 200 million years ago was discovered. Along with other tracks, it could belong to the oldest species of Italian dinosaur of the Jurassic age. The footprint is in a cave a few hundred meters from the top of Rotonaria, in the heart … Continued
It is among the highest peaks of the Ernici, at the height of 1952 metres, and its name derives perhaps from the medieval ‘Madonna’ with which title the ladies were called. The summit can be reached from several paths made by CAI of varying difficulty, starting from Campocatino (Guarcino), the centre of Vico and from … Continued
In 1989, Vico nel Lazio held a sculpture campus dedicated to young European artists. Artists have created ‘The Columns of Brotherhood’ as a wish for a world governed by understanding and friendship among peoples. Master Vincenzo Bianchi was the creator and director of the campus. The columns were made of four travertine blocks from which … Continued
Isola del Liri was founded between two arms of the river Liri each of which gives rise to a waterfall: the “Great Waterfall” and “the Valcatoio Waterfall” (formerly “the Gualcatojo”). The Great Waterfall is about 27 meters high and is a rare example of a waterfall in the centre of a town. The waterfall of … Continued
The municipal theatre was built in a wing of the Manna Lanificio (Woollen Mill). The lanificio in turn had been made by transforming the premises of the Convent of St. Francis that the king of Naples Gioacchino Murat (brother-in-law of Napoleon) had requisitioned and sold to private persons during the Napoleonic period.
The multimedia room is equipped for recording and musical performances. It was built in a wing of Manna Lanificio. In one of the halls you can observe an interesting example of industrial archaeology with a knitting machine.
The history of the paper mill began in 1836 when the Neapolitan entrepreneur Christmas Sorvillo decided to build a paper mill at Isola del Liri. Among the numerous properties that are part of the complex, unfortunately now fragmented in many parts so that it has not kept its original soul, is the manor house, a … Continued
The San Francesco woollen mill was on the right bank of the main branch of the Liri river, the one under the major waterfall. This industrial complex was also built in the premises of a former convent acquired during the Napoleonic period, the convent of Saint Francis. Today, some of its venues have been dedicated … Continued
In a building at the foot of the Castle right at the beginning of Lungo-Liri is an ancient SOMS sign (Società Operaia del Mutuo Soccorso) dating back to the foundation year of 1862. The sign is emblematic of the spirit that lived in this heart of the industrial revolution in South-central Italy. SOMS is still … Continued
At the beautiful Prati di Mezzo you can perform many sporting and leisure activities. In summer the main activities are the walks along the trails of the National Park of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise and mountain bike activities. In winter you can practice snowshoeing, ski mountaineering and skiing. Climbing enthusiasts can climb the cliff in … Continued
St. Benedict was the founder of monasticism and Patron of Europe. Along with his sister Santa Scolastica, he was born in Norcia, Umbria, in 480 and he died in the Cassino monastery in 547. On the parallel roads, the two twins renounced their wealth and began to base their religious orders following what has become … Continued
This is a bridge for those with black humour. The bridge is built on three series of arches, 69 meters high and 312 meters long. It was inaugurated by the Pope in 1854 and was open to all the wheeled vehicles. In 1944 the bridge was blown up the retreating German army to impede the … Continued
The ‘tracciolino’ is an old Bourbon road that communicates Val Comino with Roccasecca plain and is also called ‘Canyon’ for wild landscapes that can be admired along its route. The road passes through Plauto di Casalvieri and follows the bed of the Melfa River with its rushing course in winter and low flow in summer. … Continued
It is an antique votive depository from the 4th century BC. The building was prestigious and there are traces of a thermal plant and water channeling systems used for building air conditioning
This Roman bridge crosses the Melfa river with the remains of a Roman road in Casal delle Mole.
At the height of 1254 metres near Pizzo Murro Marro, you can find the cave of Murro, a karst cavity that penetrates into the rock for a dozen meters. Karst phenomena are numerous, witnessed by various cavities along the river gorges and the “Impaura” cave, located beneath the limestone spur of Valle di Noce, that … Continued
The Fair of Grottaferrata has medieval origins and is closely linked to the Abbey of San Nilo. In the Middle Ages they were often fairs started in pilgrimage areas during special religious celebrations. In Grottaferrata many pilgrims came to the Church of St. Mary in the Annunciation (March 25) and to the Nativity of Our … Continued
Located atop a hill with a wonderful view towards the sea, are the ruins of ancient Tusculum, a Latin, Roman and medieval city, razed in 1191 for harbouring the militias of Frederick Barbarossa. In the archaeological site remains have been found dating back to the Iron Age, which indicate already at this stage the likely … Continued
The catacombs were found at the ‘tenth’ mile of the ancient via Latina (today Via Anagnina) and were discovered by accident in 1905. They are known for their excellent condition and consist of five galleries dug into the tuff with vaulted ceiling. They have plenty of tombstones, with inscriptions in Latin and Greek, ranging from … Continued
In the middle of Via Maggiore is a stone called “San Bernardino” or “stone of the scandal.” Upon this rock, an insolvent borrower sat for a few hours, depending on the amount of money owed. With this act the borrower admitted his total failure. Bernardino, actually “Blessed” and not “Saint”, was born in Feltre in … Continued
In 1774 on the slopes of Mont Meta rock material rich in iron oxide was found and in 1852 King Ferdinand II of Bourbon began exploratory mining. A large amount of limonite (hydrated iron oxide) and bauxite were found and a mining operation was started. Men and women brought the material to the square in … Continued
The Rock of the Germans, at an altitude of 1214 meters, is an outcrop of Mount Pizzutto where there was a military post of the German army in retreat after breaking of the Gustav Line. There are tunnels and lookout towers built by stonemasons of San Donato in exchange for food.
The walls probably belong to Cominum, an important Samnite city destroyed by the Romans in 293 AD. From a report of a portrait of a female was traced to the fact that in this area there was pagan worship of the goddess Mefite, connected with the underworld, with its sulphur fumes, (which are present in … Continued
The sundial was made in Naples in 1891 on a design of Ing. Gaetano Musilli and was made by pouring molten lead on marble.
On May 27, are held the festivities for the patron saint with great religious celebrations.
The celebrations begin on Holy Thursday with “the drum”. On the night when Christ was betrayed an historic night procession of great effect takes place on the streets of the city center to the rhythmic and gloomy sound of the drum. The next day, Good Friday, the statue of Our Lady of Sorrows and the … Continued
August 16 is held the “Procession of San Rocco” that has thousands of followers during which the statue of the saint with the dog is carried on the shoulders of the bearers throough the streets of the city.
During the procession of 14 August about 60 porters carry in procession “The Assumption Carriage” that has a height of 16 meters and above which is placed the statue of the Assumption, which is dedicated to the cathedral.
The Museum is housed in the fourteenth-century building, that had been renovated and enlarged in the eighteenth century, the former Convento dei Minori Conventuali. The exhibition is on three exhibition floors in chronological order: from Prehistory, the Volsci settlements until the Romanization and the Imperial period. Then it continues with the Middle Ages to modern … Continued
The Fiuggi History Prize, presented in February, is promoted by the Foundation “Giuseppe Levi-Pelloni” and the Holocaust Library in collaboration with the Municipality of Fiuggi.
In the valley below Fiuggi there is one of the first Italian golf courses with an interesting 18 hole course that winds over a rolling valley around and over lakes and beside copses of the local forest. The “Fiuggi Golf Club” is the oldest municipal club in Europe, founded in 1928. It has a modern … Continued
The properties of Ferentino waters were known since the Romans and the area is rich in thermal springs like Olente Fontana, the Fonte Strofino, the Sorgente Bagnatoio, the Bicipite and the Fonte Bagnatoio. The Thermal Baths of Pompeo have been officially operating since 1854 for the use of hypothermal sulphurous water springs (around 18 degrees) … Continued
Lake Canterno, located in the heart of Ernici, is a karst lake. Originally it filled when a sinkhole, through which water flowed into the ground, was blocked by debris. When the rising water pressure caused the sinkhole to reopen, the lake then returned to empty. This natural cycle was interrupted when the sinkhole was artificially … Continued
On June 12 is the festival of snails that are prepared in various ways and that represent one of the local gastronomic specialties.
The Park includes the last mountain range that slopes towards the sea and has a great variety of flora and fauna. Aurunci also has the distinction of being the only Lazio mountain range that goes directly to the Tyrrhenian Sea. Here was shot one of the masterpiece films of neo-realism, “Two Women” directed by Vittorio … Continued
Esperia gives its name to a breed of pony, originally from Mounts Ausoni and Aurunci, which is one of the fifteen breeds of limited diffusion recognized by the Association of Italian Breeders. It is the only Italian breed called “pony”. The horse is small in size and has a shiny black cloak. It has great … Continued
In 2006, in San Martin, dinosaur footprints were discovered from a different species that presumably date back to 250 million years ago. The Museum of Karst sets out the main hydrogeological characteristics of the Natural Park of Mount Aurunci and teaches about the most hidden places of the territory. The museum hosts the exhibition of … Continued
The patron saint is celebrated on the last Sunday of May with a solemn procession in which the statue of the saint parading with a donut in his arm. This is to remind of a severe famine that struck the country.
Easter Monday at the church of Our Lady of Montevetro, there is the traditional country festival during which people dance the “saltarello” with the traditional music of accordion players.
The Astronomical Observatory is a centre created to satisfy the curiosity of all the amateur astronomers, the enthusiasts of the universe who are interested in discovering the beauties of creation with tools able to go beyond the human eye. The Observatory is managed by ASTRIS.
The Festival of Artists is held on the last weekend in September to pay homage to all those who, with their art, make Cervara and the world a special place. Thanks to the combination of art and nature, Cervara is considered one of the most beautiful medieval villages in Italy and recognized as an ‘Ideal … Continued
The feast of the beech trees comprises three days dedicated to welfare and good food. On one side the mountain there are sports competitions and on the other a festival dedicated to one of the most typical products of the area: the homemade pasta called ‘Strozzapreti’.
The village of Campaegli at an altitude of 1,430 meters immediately appears as a typical mountain center with stone and wood houses, an information point for the Simbruini Mountain Park and where you can do all sports activities related to nature. Depending on the season you can practice cross-country skiing, dog-sledding, soccer, tennis and horseback … Continued
It all starts fifty years ago when the great Spanish poet Raphael Alberti described Cervara as a “sculpture in the sky.” The rock permeates the country and enters into the homes and buildings shaping them. Since the 1980s, this mountain in the Aniene Valley has become the Mountain of Peace. In 1984, the sculptor Vincenzo … Continued
The museum is dedicated to the dual personality of pastoral life in Cervara: on one hand the herding of animals by men who are absent for months, on the other the lives of women with local costumes, related jewellery and the ‘ex voto’ dedicated to the sanctuary of Madonna della Portella. The two paths of … Continued
The plateau of Collemezzo (or Colubro) is part of the famous Lepine Mountains and can be reached by car or on foot. This plateau is located about seven kilometers from the town and is connected by paths to the neighbouring towns of Carpineto Romano, Segni and Norma, which is situated on the opposite slope of … Continued
The medieval castle of Pruni is apparently part of the system built to control this territory around the year 1000 when it belonged to the Duchy of Ceccano. It is located along the road that leads to Carpineto and was destroyed in the fifteenth century due to hereditary issues arising between the Colonna and the … Continued
Walking along the ancient Via Vitularia, on which you can observe parts of the ancient Roman paving stones and engraved by the passage of carts, you come to the remains of an arch, and an ancient Roman bridge over the river.
The so-called Saturn’s Tomb is located along the Via Vitularia, also called “Iocca Dell’Ova” that can be traced back to the end of the first century AD. The structure is about 6 meters high and is built with irregular cobblestones connected by mortar. Nearby were found funerary artifacts. Alongside the ‘tomb’ has also been found … Continued
Decumanus is the road that ran through the ancient Roman city from east to west, and that still today can be found in Via Aquila Romana. Sections of the original road have been excavated and brought to light in an area of the old town considered the centre meeting place of Arpino. The Roman roads … Continued
Mario Iafrate master carpenter of Arpino has worked all his life in the creation of artistic works in his carpentry shop. The works are exhibited in the deconsecrated church of San Domenico.
The Stone Book consists of poems carved on stone (in the original language with Italian translation) that famous contemporary poets have devoted to Arpino. The “pages” are located in the four districts that divide the old town: the four quarters being Colle, Ponte, Civita Falconara and Arco. The poems are ” “Il Bianchissimo Vento” by … Continued
In the month of May there is the Certamen Ciceronianum Arpinas, a translation from the Latin competition and commentary of a passage of Marcus Tullius Cicero. The test must be completed within a maximum of five hours. Students participating in the competition are in their last year of classical and scientific high schools from around … Continued
On the facade of a house in via del Muro Torto is a large slab with inscriptions written in Latin made by Pope Clement XIV and dated 1772. It is a contract in which the Pope grants the prince Angelo Gabrielli the possibility of using for himself an oven for baking bread, a crusher, a … Continued
Pisterzo is a classic example of a medieval town, a small village in a horseshoe shape which has about eighty inhabitants in winter plus flocks of vacationers in summer who enjoy the cool of the valley. The meaning of the name Pisterzo is controversial, in an ancient document it is reported as “Prius Tertium”, the … Continued
Along the streets of the Old Town you find the hand-painted ceramic tiles representing the Stations of the Cross along where religious processions stop that travel the streets of Cerreto Laziale.
Walking through the charming old town, opposite the town hall on the walls of a building is a small bronze sculpture dedicated to the ‘Cerreto Cat’ and the history of the victory of Cerretani against the mercenary band of Marco Sciarra.
This clock shows the time in an ‘equinoctial’ way. The beginning of the ‘day’ takes place at sunset every day and ends at the next sunset.
Guadagnolo is the highest town of Lazio at 1218 meters above sea-level on Mount Guadagnolo. From here you can admire both the Valle del Sacco and that of the Aniene Valley and the view reaches the Agro Romano, the Alban Hills, to Monti Sabini, Simbruini, Ernici and Lepine. Two legends surround its history: the first … Continued
In “Park Elcini”, the Colonna Castle park, you can see the remains of the aqueduct that brought water inside the castle. The aqueduct was restored in early 1600 to facilitate access to the castle. The aqueduct carried water originally to an ancient Roman villa. In fact, the last section of the aqueduct was the ancient … Continued
The Autodromo Vallelunga Piero Taruffi is dedicated to, the pilot and the first designer of the asphalt runway. Vallelunga was built in 1951 by the family Pesci transforming a former racecourse and the first race was held on a track in the sand. Since 1967 the circuit has been owned by the ACI – Automobile … Continued
Campagnano di Roma is crossed by Via Francigena along which for centuries there have been pilgrimages and transit from Canterano to Rome. Via Francigena is part of European roads that have been reactivated for those tourists who want to discover little-known territories and have the time to meditate to find themselves.
For 15 years, the medieval village of Campagnano of Rome has been home to one of the most famous antique markets of central Italy with more than 250 exhibitors of antiques, paintings, art and collectibles.
At about 3 km along the road to the Highlands of Arcinazzo, there is a pathway which leads to the Valley of Thistles (Porretta) and the ruins of what was once the Villa of Calpurnius, a Free Roman, which dates from the first half of the second century AD. The villa was discovered in 1890 … Continued
Massimiliano Floridi, the sculptor, has created a path of Land Art representing the four elements and introducing a new concept in art, the “Hunting element” in which the hunters are works themselves. The artist’s idea was to animate an object of art, in order to be in relation with the viewer’s senses, while each work also … Continued
On the crest of the Ernici mountains, strolling along the paths, you will find the ancient stones that marked the border between the Papal State and the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies.
The observatory has been running since 1987, and in its more than 30 years’ researchers have made 42 important discoveries: 35 small planets between Mars and Jupiter and 7 extrasolar planets revolving around other stars. The observatory is in the mountains at an altitude of 1,500 metres on Colle Pannunzio where there is no light … Continued
Above Guarcino is Campocatino plateau at about 1800 meters above sea level, that is one of the oldest ski resorts of Lazio with one chairlift and three ski lifts. The area offers 15 km of downhill slopes, a snow park and a position among the snowy Apennines, due to direct exposure to the western humid … Continued
The hike to the summit of Mount Siserno is an exciting journey where one meets beautiful nature with its main essences: myrtle, mushrooms, olive trees, pine forests. There are pastures of cattle, buffaloes, horses and each person can make for themselves ‘geological discoveries’ observing the ancient shellfish fossils trapped in rocks.
It is a concrete structure of the seventies (1968-69) and is located inside the condominium. The theatre is on one floor and is complete with all the facilities for the actors and for the audience.
During the work for the high-speed train remains of an ancient large Roman patrician villa were found, which seems to have belonged to the Emperor Antoninus Pius. It is possible to detect a large pipeline of stone that served as aqueduct to service the villa.
Remains of a Roman aqueduct dating back to the first century BC are found in locations of Callami and the Roman villa of Lucius Cocceius, at Colle Alto.
The current cemetery was built starting in 1868 and houses the remains of famous people such as the vice governor of Libya as well as the late nineteenth-century tombs with exquisite decorations. Walking around the old part you can trace the evolution of artistic styles and better understand the history of the town.
A trail leads to the top of Monte Calvello at an altitude of 935 meters above sea level characterized by large areas covered with chestnut and beech forests.
The castle dates back to Monte Acuto 1224, when Giovanni de Ceccano bequeathed it to his son Landolfo. The castle was almost completely destroyed in the fights between the families of the Caetani, Conti, Colonna and other barons of the Province of Marittima and Campagna.
The trail starts from Pisoniano and leads to the Monastery of St. Francis in Bellegra. A hiking trail starts from the Monastery and then arrive at the parking lot of the restaurant of the Hotel San Camillo.
It is the point from where you can observe 52 towns belonging to five provinces of Lazio and Abruzzo. It is accessible by car or on foot via a panoramic nature path. All are astounded by the beauty of the view. The Aniene Valley and the Valley of Sacco, with their eponymous rivers, make a … Continued
The Bellegra area is affected by karst phenomena such as the depression of the Pantano (marsh) valley where until 1911 there was a lake that was then drained for agricultural purposes. From this small pond and its underground outlet the “Arch Caves” originated. They are almost a kilometer long and half a kilometer of which … Continued
During the Christmas holidays, along the entire side of the mountain of Artena, is the 2nd biggest Italian Christmas tree (100 meters x 80 meters). The lights that outline the tree are visible throughout the Valle de Sacco from many kilometers away, and to all those who follow the motorway between Rome and Naples.
The famous car manufacturer in Turin, Lancia, decided to give the name Artena to a new model produced in two periods, 1931-1936 and 1940-1942.
Sweet and gentle, mules accompany visitors in visiting the old city, inaccessible to motor vehicles. In a timeless atmosphere, you walk discovering at every turn old houses, palaces and chapels which seem to climb over each other. Through stairways and narrow curves, you come across the mules that are the protagonists of the Palio of … Continued
The Christi Infiorati are large wood crucifixes (2.5 x 1 m) surmounted by a structure of woven reeds of wild asparagus and garnished with thousands of flowers. They are carried in procession by the Brotherhoods on the festival of Our Lady of Grace. The preparation of each Christ requires many days of work: the first … Continued
The polygonal walls that still surround many towns of southern Lazio were built over two thousand years ago, with blocks of stone so large that for a long time their construction was attributed to the mythical Cyclops, or the people of the Pelasgians. They are difficult to date, but it now seems certain that the … Continued
The engine of the economy is the extraction of marble Perlato Royal Coreno and in the district there are many quarries, sawmills, processing and transportation companies. The stone is also pulverized in order to be used in the cosmetic industry.
On the first Sunday of August there is the Palio of involving the whole town competing by local districts
At Coreno is held the National Poetry Competition on the theme “Lets Not forget” dedicated to World War II in Coreno Ausonio.
Inside Palazzo Gallio, from an exhibition of 1999 is a permanent display of Cryptozoology, the study of mysterious animals that may or may not exist. The exhibition was initiated under the auspices of the Abruzzo National Park.
The Community Theatre of Alvito is inside the Palazzo Gallio in what was the ‘Throne Room’ at the time of the Duke of Alvito.
It is a ghost town, abandoned for over 400 years.
Founded in 1976 it is considered one of the most important Italian literary awards. The award is preceded by both the “International Poetry Meeting”, which attracts poets from around the world, and chamber music concerts.
Fossa Maiura is a cone-shaped karst depression, like a mouth of a volcano. It has a depth of about 100 meters and a diameter of about 3 km.
Every Tuesday morning in Colleferro is held one of the largest markets in the region. In one area of the town you can visit a great ‘American market’, i.e. a used clothing market, where you can still hear the calls and the traditional melodies of the sellers.
The municipal theatre was built in the fifties and its strange name comes from its original owners, a native Venetian family from Vittorio Veneto who wanted to pay homage to their roots. The theatre hosts an entertainment season and is one of the main centres of social life of the town.
The shelters comprise a network of more than 6 km of tunnels used during the Second World War as an air raid shelter for citizenship. There are reconstructed period rooms with war relics illustrating the underground life of the population. Today these tunnels, created by digging in the pozzolana quarries, are partly accessible and are … Continued
The territory of Piglio is littered with “caves” which are of great importance for their beauty and for the presence of stalagmites and stalactites, like the one located at the Franciscan complex of San Lorenzo, where the Blessed Andrea Conti lived for more than forty years.
Torre del Piano is situated in “Vico”, in a strategic point for the crossing of several roads on the border between Piglio, Anagni and Acuto. The building dates back to 1080, has a square base and is about thirty meters high. At the base there is also a small chapel contemporaneous with the tower. It … Continued
In Fontana di Grano, among vineyards and olive groves, was found a villa “Patrizia” of the Roman era, dating from I-II century BC. Part of the polychrome mosaic floor tiles in glass paste are visible, as well as the remains of thermal baths with its heating system and hot water production and a stone statue, … Continued
During the Middle Ages there were three pilgrimages ‘more’ that had to be travelled by the true believers: visits to the tomb of the Apostle Peter in Rome, the Holy Land and to Santiago de Compostela. The routes were used mainly between the ninth and thirteenth centuries. The Via Francigena del Sud departs from … Continued
The Venerable Brotherhood was founded in 1429 and joined the Venerable Confraternity of SS. Trinita dei Pellegrini in Rome in March 1578. Its purpose was to promote the cult of the saint and help the needy. After a period of difficulty, January 10, 1990 the brotherhood returned to resume its duties: it collaborated in the … Continued
The history of Alatri begins with its acropolis surrounded by walls made of megaliths, i.e. large rocks positioned dry with perfect joints on top of each other. According to the legend, Alatri and other cities of southern Lazio were founded by the God Saturn in the fifteenth century BC, others connecting to the people of … Continued
The Acropolis is the symbol of Alatri, the heart of the historic centre, and is a flat area on a hill surrounded by megalithic walls. It is assumed that the acropolis was built before the walls. The Acropolis is called “Civita” and has a trapezoidal shape and inside it is a square base of megalithic … Continued
The camp is located along the road towards Fumone and was opened in 1942, during World War II. It was used for the confinement of political prisoners, social disidents and prisoners of war. After the war it was used to accommodate displaced persons, refugees and political dissidents from various parts of Europe and Africa and … Continued
In mid-March are held celebrations for the Eucharistic miracle of the Host Incarnate that involve many events including a festival of choirs. This miracle, that occurred in Alatri in 1228, is recognized as one of the four eucharistic miracles along with those of Bolsena, Lanciano and Siena. The story is told in a bull of … Continued
The Cloister is part of a former Franciscan monastery, which is now used for art exhibitions and conventions. The building dates back to the Middle Ages and the original lines are found in the vaults, in the arches, old stone pillars and in the decoration of the windows. The convent was closed in 1873, after … Continued
The bike path is 20 km long running from La Forma (Serrone) to reach Fiuggi and stretches along the ancient route of the narrow-gauge railway that connected Rome to Fiuggi in 1930. In many places the route passes by the main road and you can enjoy an incredible view over the valley of the Sacco … Continued
The nature trail is a loop route partly built during the reforestation of the area and is equipped with explanatory signs of plants and an area for parking near the Volubro lake. A special experience is to walk the path during the flowering of wild orchids, at which time educational trips for naturalists are organized. … Continued
Acuto is in the Cesanese DOC area, where this type of vines are grown, and it is crossed by the Via del Cesanese established precisely to promote enograstronomic culture and beauty of the area. Along the way the road passes producers in whose cellars you can taste the Cesanese red wine and the Passerina Frusinate, … Continued
Rocca Priora is the country of the springs, idroteca and of Roman castles. There are still some old springs that have had great importance in the life of the country, there are many sources of some importance marked by military maps. Some sources are equipped with spouts, troughs and sinks. There are paths for lovers … Continued
Paliano falls within the Cesanese DOCG wine area and is a member of the Cesanese Wine Route, which also includes Acuto, Anagni, Affile, Piglio and Serrone. The association promotes internationally the wines of Cesanese, Passerina and the territory. The tourist route is well sign-posted as one drives around the slopes and valleys from village to … Continued
The theatre of Victories is a room of about 350 seats in the historic centre. Its original name was “Cinema Teatro Vittoria” in honour of the victory of World War II. The plural, ‘Victories’ comes from the Fascist period in honour of the victories in the colonial wars.
The theatre and multiplex dates back to the 1950s and was built in a project by Eng. Nestore Evangelisti. The large theatre hall has a capacity of over 1000 seats while the six smaller rooms of the multiplex have a capacity of about 150 seats each.
The tomb was a funerary monument of the second century AD and is on an almost square plan, with a side of about 5 meters, and is built in brick. Its style is that of Roman tombs ?a camera’ or ‘a celle’ that spread from the second century AD. It is covered with a cross … Continued
Along the ancient road that connected Rome with the south, in the lower area of Frosinone, thermal baths and system have been discovered dating back to the late third century AD. Some walls, mosaics and ornaments dating from a period from the third century BC have also emerged during excavation. These show how the low … Continued
The amphitheatre dates from the end of the first century and is located in the lower part of Frosinone near the River Cosa. Although it was mentioned by historians, the amphitheatre was only discovered in 1965 and a part is incorporated in a building of the twentieth century. The original structure had an elliptical ground … Continued
Serrone is part of the Cesanese del Piglio DOCG wine area and is crossed by the Cesanese Wine Route, created to promote wine tourism and to raise awareness of the particularities of this enchanting land. The cultivation is widespread and has long been in virtually every family who then sold in bulk to local towns, … Continued
San Quirico is a small village, and perhaps is the origin of the town of Serrone as here are the remains of its cyclopean walls. The walls bear witness to an origin previous to the foundation of Rome, perhaps attributed to the Ernici people. In San Quirico is a particular church that dates back to … Continued
The village of La Forma is the largest of Serrone and stretches along the Via Prenestina. Its origins were in early 1700s and are due to the presence of a water source. Its location along a busy street of communication made it grow rapidly and today it is a commercial area. Located at an altitude … Continued
After the construction of the new church of La Forma in 1957, the old church has been used as a theatre with a capacity of about 90 seats, that is operated and owned by the Parish of the Sacred Heart.
The bike path is 20 km long running from La Forma to reach Fiuggi and stretches along the ancient route of the narrow-gauge railway that connected Rome to Fiuggi in 1930. In many places the route passes by the main road and you can enjoy an incredible view over the valley of the Sacco and, … Continued
Mount Scalambra is crossed by marked paths that are part of the European path E1, the one that starts from the North Cape in Norway and arrive at Capo Passero in Sicily and which is over 6000 km long. Wooden boards indicate the distances and the peculiarities of the flora and fauna of the place. … Continued
Mount Scalambra is the best place to launch a paraglider or hang-glider and has three different heights for takeoff. The first take-off altitude is 890 meters and is the most widely used because it is located just 5 minutes from the historic centre. Enthusiasts land in the same spot where they took off or in … Continued
Mount Scalambra, on Ernici, is 1420 meters high and is located between the valley of the Sacco and the Aniene Valley. In ancient times it was known as “Monte Carbone” by sailors who used it as a point of orientation because it is visible and recognizable from out at sea. The name of “Carbone” (coal) stemmed … Continued
Like many municipalities in Lazio, in Serrone are the remains of ancient cyclopean or polygonal walls. Their name is derived from the size of the stones and how these fit together perfectly. They are traced back to the Ernici people who constructed them, but legend has it that all the towns of southern Lazio who … Continued
In 2009 there appeared on the walls of many buildings in Sgurgola, under the catalysis of a local photographer, paintings by a range of artists on the theme of music. A stroll through town and up the side roads reveals these paintings setting a theme of life in music for the town.