The first documents on the tower of Piscoli date back to 1332 when it was an isolated tower that was part of a military communications system for controlling Vias Prenestina, Labicana and Latina. Later the tower was surrounded by a moat fed by the river Sacco, and by a wall within which there were also … Continued
The Paliano gymnasium (gym) is one of the most extraordinary examples of contemporary art of architect Massimiliano Fuksas and has been his ‘stepping stone’ towards international success. The double façade of the building, with a part with the silhouette of an inclined facade that seems to be about to fall is his tribute to the … Continued
The palace dates back to the eighteenth century and originally was called Palazzo Tucci-Savo, in honour of Benedict Tucci-Savo, who in 1867 was the last standard-bearer of the Papal State in Paliano during that period. In the basement there is also a mill and today the building is a private residence.
It was built in 1600 by the Petrarch family that, in 1755 brought to Paliano the order of the Passionists. In fact, in 1767 the palace housed the founder of the order, St. Paul of the Cross. In the palace there is a private chapel and numerous frescoed rooms by Tommaso Conca, also author of … Continued
The Furba door is located in the north side of the old town and has a small opening hidden in the walls and protected by the natural slope. Probably it was an emergency exit, an escape, for citizens in case of attack or siege of the city.
Porta Napoletana is located along the south side of Paliano overlooking Naples and this building had a brick core with a drawbridge. The gate dates back to the Middle Ages and was rebuilt in the seventeenth century by Carlo Brancacci and in 1704 by the Governor Antonio Ossuary, as reflected by a plaque on the … Continued
Porta Romana is located along the side of Paliano overlooking Rome and its construction dates back to 1232, when Gregory IX strengthened the fortifications of the town. In 1557 and in 1565 the gate was restored and decorated with frescoes which have been lost. Its present form is a restoration of 1710 by Filippo Colonna … Continued
The palace was built by Filippo I Colonna in 1620 as a quadrangular building adherent to the Sant’Andrea church that, at that time, was also the family tomb. In 1661 the building was expanded by building a new wing with new boardrooms. In the hall of weapons are war trophies taken from the Turks at … Continued
The Colonna fortress is the most representative monument of Paliano and is still used as a prison. The fortress was begun in the eleventh century during the period in which the inhabitants sought refuge from the Barbarians in fortified buildings on high ground. In 1232 the Castrum Palianus was surrounded by walls protected by a … Continued