The area where you find the fountain and the bridge was very important during the Roman period when Frosinone was considered the town of the rivers. For here the via Latina (today via Casilina) bridged the river Cosa, which then had a much larger flow. Via Latina connected Rome to Naples and its importance was as one of the consular roads of Rome towards the south because the Appian Way that passed along the Tyrrhenian coast had to cross swampy areas.
The Roman bridge was destroyed by a flood of the river Cosa in 1773 and was rebuilt in 1774 together with the Bussi Fountain. The fountain is named after Governor Giovanni Battista Bussi de Pretis who ordered the work.
The existence of a previous Roman fountain is documented by a memorial stone with an inscription that was found during some maintenance work. It is believed that the stone refers to Gaius Marius in the period 104-101 BC.
The fountain of 1774 still reflects the style of the Roman fountains where the water flows in mouths spilling out from a ‘wall’. In this case the wall is late Baroque sinuous shaped marble and there are six simple pipes with the water gushing onto a marble which then leads to a large basin used in the past to water animals.