The church was designed in 1779 by architect Venanzio Rubini who succeeded other architects. In an antique document it shows how the construction of church involved demolishing
five houses, a cellar and a stable. Construction was slow depending on the amount of money they could find. The original design included statues of saints above the facade but for lack of funds they opted for two small lateral bell towers.
The building has a large nave with six side chapels communicating with each other. In the apse behind the altar there is a painting depicting Jesus with the Apostles that consigned the keys to St. Peter.
The marble high altar dates back to 1857 and was built by the Roman stonemason Joachim Pizzicheria.