The complex was built in the renaissance on a small hermitage where, according to tradition, St. Francis had been standing on his trip to Tuscia. The monastery is about two beautiful cloisters, one inside and one outside, and the inside was painted in the eighteenth century with the Stories of Saint Francis.
The earliest records date back to 1474 when a document of Sixtus IV reports that the convent and church were built through the generosity both of Gabriele Francesco Farnese, son of Ranuccio the Elder, married to Isabella Orsini, and of all the people of Canino.
The convent was occupied until 1868 by the Minor Friars.
The church has a nave with a trussed ceiling. Inside is a table of 1400s and St. Anthony of Padua and a Madonna and Child with Saints of 1497.