The convent was begun in 1592 thanks to a legacy of the will of Mastro Pietro Fratepipari who donated a thousand scudi to make a convent. However, the works were soon suspended because the chosen site was isolated and under threat by bandits.
The works were then resumed in 1602 and ended in 1606 and the convent was the site of a school of theology dedicated to the religious youth. The convent was then sold by Napoleon during his period of Italian conquest in which he sold many church assets to private individuals. In 1905 it was then bought back by the Capuchin friars at a public auction and during the war it hosted many families of Segni giving them water and food.