The Medieval Tower

La Torre Maschia of the walls is a massive cylindrical body with a walkway around the outer battlements. At its entrance is the coat of arms of Pope Victor III (1086-1087), to which is probably attributed the reconstruction of the town. In the seventeenth century it became a prison. Today the Tower is open to the public and can be visited and is the headquarters of the Consortium of Lanuvini Hills wines (Enoteca del Consorzio dei vini Colli Lanuvini).

 

 

Guides:
Guide of Lanuvio

Guide of Lanuvio

The town of Lanuvio southeast of Rome was built on the ancient town of Lanuvium and legends tell that Lanuvium […]