Located on the Ernici mountains, over the centuries Acuto has had a history of love-hate with the nearby town of Anagni. Their rivalry began before the birth of Rome and only ended with the arrival of Napoleon and the subsequent decline of Acuto.
In the area there have been found numerous remains of Roman buildings though legend has it that the town was founded only in 450 AD by the inhabitants of Anagni who escaped the invasion of barbarians of Genserico. Perhaps Acuto already existed and that is where the inhabitants of Anagni found refuge, just within the walls of its fortified centre.
The first written document of the existence of a fort dates back to 1051 in a document of Pope Leo IX who gave two churches of Acuto (San Quentin and San Felice) to the monastery of Subiaco. From the twelfth century Acuto was part of the Anagni fiefdom and at one point was assigned to a certain Ildicio Iudici of Anagni who was then expelled by Pope Alexander IV because he had become a tyrant.
The Middle Ages and the Renaissance are characterized by the lords of Anagni who took possession of the Acuto fiefdom. These included both the Conti family that the Caetani family, the descendant of the Pope Boniface VIII famous for the slap of Anagni. Yet, the pope brought it back under the direct control of the Cathedral of Anagni. This is why the Bishop of Anagni is also called the Lord of Acuto.
The medieval village is charming with wonderful views and the many churches that underline the previous domination of the Papal States.
Acuto is part of the DOC Cesanese wine area with zones particularly suited to the cultivation of this traditional vine.
Among its citizens are the astronaut Umberto Guidoni and a famous ‘star’ chef, Salvatore Tassa, who has his restaurant here.