The area was inhabited ever since the Etruscan and Roman periods, and proof of this are exhibited in the town museum. The place was a staging post for refreshment and to change horses.
In medieval times there were only small scattered settlements of farmers and shepherds and the reference point was the Respampani fortress.
In 1456 the castle and the land surrounding it were sold by the Apostolic Camera, which then entrusted it to the Hospital of Santo Spirito in Sassia that planned to form a rational agricultural colony. The transaction was to finance Pope Callisto III who needed funds to arm a fleet against the Turks.
The current village began to develop at the beginning of the seventeenth century around an inn and a church, the Chiesa di Maria SS. Addolorata, which was the expansion of a small chapel that had guarded a sacred image since 1530. The village was equipped with a barn and a granary.
In 1666 another settlement was developed.
During the eighteenth century prisons were built, (1737) and a civic centre that included a new church, and a “mess” for administrators.