Amatrice is the natural Lazio entrance to the National Park of Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga, and is located along one of the consular roads of Rome: Via Salaria. This beautiful valley known as the Villarum Summa, has been inhabited since prehistoric times.
From the fall of Rome, with the Lombardi, Amatrice became part of the Committee of Ascoli, a city which has always maintained special ties even when, in 1200, it joined definitively the Kingdom of Naples.
In this period were created the first Universitas, that is, areas of land freely organized, relatively autonomous, that are governed by a local parliament.
From 1582 it fell under the dominion of the Orsini, then the Montefeltro della Rovere and finally became the personal assets of the Bourbon kings. Several earthquakes have periodically destroyed Amatrice: the worst in 1639 that destroyed the palace of the Orsini, houses and churches.