Guide of Campodimele

Originally this village was called Apiola, a name derived from bees and that after the conquest of Rome in the sixth century BC it was transformed into Campus Mellis, or “Field of Honey”.

After years of neglect, in the seventh century, it became a possession of the monastery of Montecassino and was later the subject of contention with the Duchy of Gaeta.

It has been important for many families, the Caetani, the Colonna until in 1689, the then owner Prince of Stigliano died and the whole area was taken by the tax authorities of the Kingdom of Naples.

With the abolition of the feudal system, in 1806, it became common property. King Ferdinand II travelled there on a visit to the nearby shrines of Campodimele and Itri and improved all the roads to get there.


Upcoming events

There are no upcoming events as of now

Special experiences