Orvinio is located on a slope of Lucretili Mountains and is included in the list of most beautiful villages in Italy. The name refers to the ancient Roman settlement of Orvinium. In 817 Charlemagne defeated the Saracens here and the place began to be called Canemorto until 1863, when it resumed its original name Orvinio.
It was mentioned for the first time in 1078 in some documents of the Abbey of Farfa, although before it was referred to as the monastery of Santa Maria del Piano. In the sixteenth century it was acquired by the Orsini and the Tuttavilla. After 1625 it passed to the Borghese who became dukes. By 1800 Orvinio was part of the Papal States and was the seat of government and residence of the Governor.