Set on the foothills of Mount Curio, in the Lepine Mountains, was the ancient Volscian territory from which this town takes its name. Although the town is medieval and was founded by the inhabitants of Priverno who sought refuge in the hills after the destruction of their town by the Saracens, this area has ancient roots told by Virgil in the Aeneid. The Volsci are a very proud people who were never completely subdued by the Romans and maintained their roots in the villages on the mountains.
In the ninth century, when the village was formed around a watchtower, the castrum of S. Croce, Roccasecca and directly became a subsidiary of the Patrimony of St. Peter. Many families have followed its control: the Counts of Ceccano, the Carafa, the Maxima, the Gabrielli and Altieri. The family that has given most to Roccasecca is that of Massimo during the Renaissance with a number of architectural and artistic structures to assert their importance.
And at least twice it was attacked: the first in 1125 by Pope Honorius II and the second in 1425 by Charles III in support of the Colonna family, opponents of the pope.