Guide of Sant’Angelo Romano

Known since 1174 BC the country, originally known as Medullia, was conquered by the Romans who built a fortress and a prison. With the fall of the Roman empire it became a refuge for many inhabitants of the neighboring Roman villas.

From the ashes of the fortress, in the eleventh century a castle was constructed surrounded by walls. The Orsini turned it into a fortified castle. In 1594 it experienced its heyday becoming a principality headed by Federico Cesi, the founder in 1603 of the Accademia dei Lincei, the oldest scientific academy in the world.


The guide of Sant'Angelo Romano

Book cover image

Upcoming events

There are no upcoming events as of now

Special experiences