The church was founded in 1011 on the remains of a large Roman public building, and in this area was the house of the father of Marcus Tullius Cicero
The church was dedicated to the Mother of God and San Domenico. In 1030 the church and other goods were donated by the steward Pietro il Maggiore to the Benedictine monk Domenico di Foligno.
The monastery, however, has not reached us in its original appearance, because of the multiple restorations partly due to devastating earthquakes such as that of 13 January 1915 that destroyed the vaulted ceiling.
Today the abbey is presented with a rather sober main facade, with three doors and a beautiful rose window. The jambs of the door on the left and the left of the portal are made of limestone blocks with rural motifs which probably adorned the Roman villa.
The church has three naves separated by two rows of columns different from each other and under the fifth column is a milestone of the Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius Maxentius (306-312 AD).
According to tradition, San Domenico died in the crypt once he lay on a layer of ash, prepared according to the Benedictine use. The sacred remains of the saint are kept in the altar of the crypt.