Castel Sindici was built in 1800 at the behest of the oenologist and Cavaliere del Lavoro, Stanislaus Sindici. The project was completed by Count Giuseppe Sacconi, the architect who designed the Altare della Patria in Rome.
The castle was built with local limestone in the model of a fortress and was built in the middle of a large park that still surrounds it.
The building was originally used as a cellar for storing wine but over the years has been converted into a meeting place of important artists who gravitated around Sindici. Examples include the Roman painters Aurelio and Cesar Tiratelli. The elegant mansion was also host to the famous poet Gabriele D’Annunzio.
In 1928 the Castel Sindici estate was declared a “Zone of national artistic interest”.
In the underground rooms of the cellar the “Castel Sindici” wine was produced and sold in Italy and abroad. This sparkling white was much appreciated, as to be mentioned among the fine wines of Lazio in the first edition in 1931 of the “Gastronomic Guide of Italy” by the Italian Touring Club. It is still possible to see the ceramic barrels where the wine was stored.
In November 1943, the building was requisitioned by the Nazis who used it as the headquarters of the S.S. military command of the area.
The building was purchased by the city and is open to the public together with the surrounding park full of trees.