The current castle is the result of several changes that have occurred over the centuries. The building originates in a position chosen in the VIII century on the site of the ancient acropolis tower.
In the Middle Ages the castle took on great importance, becoming the center of the county of the Counts de Ceccano, a powerful autonomous state.
Between late 1400 and early 1500 with the extinction of the noble family, the castle and their property passed to the family of Caetani. In 1523, by Papal Bull, Ceccano became fiefdom of Prospero Colonna.
In later centuries the castle declined in importance and became a prison and, from 1734, was completely converted to a place of punishment and imprisonment at the behest of Fabrizio Colonna.
The general state court was moved to Ceccano, with archive and prisons, from the nearby town of Pofi. Other buildings were added to the castle to meet the new requirements of government and create the tribunal, the infirmary, the chapel and the external walkways to connect the two wings of the prison (male and female).
In 1816 the assets of the Colonna were captured by Berardi Marquis. Among the various works of renovation, the castle was restored and increased capacity with the addition of three-mullioned windows and battlements on the roof and the tower.
With the closure of the prison in 1973, the castle was abandoned. Later it was bought by the city and partially restored in the late ’90s. Since 2012 it has been open on weekends through the Association Cultores Artium.
The outside of the castle retains many medieval elements.
The fortress, the defensive main entrance tower with fine Gothic portals and upper tracks are visible of a machicolation, the hole from which you threw boiling liquids on attackers.
In the old court of honour can be seen remains of Ghibelline which testifies to the favorable policy to the Emperor of the counts of Ceccano. Below is an octagonal rose window, a clear homage to the Swabian family that had dealings with the noble Ceccanesi. The rose is very similar to that of Priverno, and Fossanova Ferentino.
In the old parade ground, dominated by the tall tower, there are the buildings added during the era of the prison: the court, the infirmary and chapel.
In the indoors medieval frescoes are visible, including a rare iconographic calendar showing months of the year, dating back to the thirteenth century, sacred paintings and graffiti made by prisoners when the facility was used as a prison.