The church and convent were built in 1565 by the Savelli family, modifying a medieval hermitage. Its peculiarity is that it is above the entrance to the catacombs of San Senatore.
In 1676 the church collapsed and the current neoclassical façade dates back to the reconstruction of the eighteenth century. In the nineteenth century, the municipal cemetery was moved next to the church, and then moved to its present location after the Unification of Italy.
The facade is embellished by the image of the Virgin that recalls the miracle that took place inside the church. On the high altar there is the marvelous painting of the Madonna with Child of the XIV century onto which a stone was thrown that turned into a star on contact with the sacred image. The interior has a single nave with four side altars and has a late Baroque style.