The church was built in 1520 by Cardinal Alessandro Farnese on the design by Antonio da Sangallo the Younger and is a small jewel of Renaissance architecture. It is at the centre of a small valley and the exterior is characterized by three identical facades.
The plan is a Greek cross and has a recessed central dome. It has a beautiful hexagonal floor and many frescoes of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
The drawings of the original design can be found in the Uffizi Gallery in Florence.