The Church of the Piarists Order of Poor Clerics Regular of the Mother of God of the Pious Schools was built between 1734 and 1745 on the plans of Brother Benedict Margariti from Manduria and is dedicated to the Wedding of the Virgin. In the eighteenth century Alatri went through a prosperous period thanks to the textile industry and the city was enriched with several works. The facade is made of travertine and draws some styles of the famous architect Borromini with two horizontal sections that can be found in the front door and a central window. The original plan included two twin bell towers in the facade.
The church has a Greek cross plan and ends with an apse and a large dome supported by arches. The interior has monochromatic decorations made with stucco while the walls contrast with the grand eighteenth-century paintings.
On the central altar is the painting of “Wedding of the Virgin” of Spinetti Carmine 1731, while on the two side are the paintings of the Crucifixion of the Venetian painter Benedetto Mora and the painting of St. Joseph Calasanz, realized in the second half of the eighteenth century to celebrate the founding father from the Scolopi Order.
The church is closed to worship and hosts exhibitions, events and concerts.