San Bernardo Arcanum is an English pilgrim and protector of this town that had probably lived in these areas. The church dedicated to Santa Maria Assunta has changed its name after the transfer of the body of St. Bernard.
The church was built in several stages starting with a chapel mentioned in a bull of Pope Nicholas V in the 1451. In 1561, it was enlarged and in 1698 they built the chapel. The Boncompagni family donated the lead coffin in which the Saint’s confessor and the pilgrim’s bones were preserved.
The church has a Latin cross design and its interior is in a sober baroque style. The old monumental altar was replaced following the liturgical reform of Vatican II that wanted the simplest altars and facing the people. Inside is a beautiful wooden choir and some XVII century paintings such as the Apparition of Our Lady to St. Bernard, by an unknown painter of the Neapolitan school, La Pieta, the Virgin and Child. Other paintings date back to the eighteenth and nineteenth century.