The church is located in an alley in the centre of the town and the facade blends with the neighbouring houses. From a 1754 document it seems that the church was already operating in 1192 and was under the diocese of the bishop of Palestrina.
The church underwent extensive restoration and was rebuilt in 1600. The interior has three naves and the ceiling is hidden by a large canvas that reproduces a wooden coffered ceiling and the image of Saint Peter.
Of great value is a finely carved wooden pulpit in which there are three small niches with statues of three evangelists (while some statues were stolen). The ‘artistic’ organ dates back to 1700.
In the nave is a large canvas and frescoes that are attributed to the school of Raffaello. The frescoes have been preserved thanks to a layer of spent lime spread to disinfect the walls during an epidemic of plague.
The church has a frescoed chapel with scenes of Herod with John the Baptist’s head in his hand and Salome with the dish. Another fresco is of a Pope who appointed a knight and also one of Luigi Gonzaga in a church that looks like that of Serrone. The last fresco is dedicated to the Saint of the Church with the appearance of the angel to St. Peter and scenes from the life of the saint with the granting of the keys to Saint Peter.
On the high altar is a 1600 altarpiece depicting St. Michael Archangel, patron saint of Serrone, and a reproduction of a painting by Guido Reni of 1635. Probably the painting was by Pierre Dulauvier (or Laurier) from the workshop of Guido Reni. The stucco frame that surrounds these two paintings is seventeenth century.
Under the floor is a cemetery that bears witness to the custom of burying the dead in churches.