This post is also available in: Italian

This Church dedicated to the patron saint of Fiuggi, was built before 1000 by the Benedictine monks of Subiaco. In the seventeenth century it was restored and enlarged in the Baroque style.

Inside is a fresco of the thirteenth century Giotto school representing the “Madonna and Child” and a stone holy water font made from the capital of a Roman column, from the Villa of Nero at Subiaco. Also among the paintings “Madonna and Child with St. Francis and St. Augustine” by Giuseppe Cesari (1568-1640), called Cavalier d’Arpino.

Categories:

Top