This post is also available in: Italian

The original church was built to house the body of St. Folco placed in an urn under the altar with the Latin inscription “Here there is the body of San Fulcone”. The present church dates from the sixteenth century and was only consecrated in 1742. Inside it has three vaulted naves and seven chapels with altars. Above the main altar is a painting with two sides made by Cavalier d’Arpino, with the Last Supper and the Resurrection.

Other valuable paintings and statues of St. Anthony and St. Philomena adorn the chapels of the church which also has stucco and figurative scenes, built around 1750 by the Milanese Carlo di Cesare. The church has an organ built in 1728 by Caterinozzi.

Categories:

Top