The church dates from the thirteenth century and was rebuilt several times, while the first document that mentions it is from 1257.
Of the original church of the twelfth century remains the massive outer walls decorated with carved marble pieces that come from Roman monuments.
The building has three naves with side chapels, and the central nave ends with an apse with wooden choir stalls surrounding the high altar. In the thirteenth century it had a magnificent cosmatesco floor with marble inlays that formed geometric designs, of which only a rosette behind the central portal remains.
In the sixteenth century the church was rebuilt by Count Everso Anguillara, who changed the architectural order and arrangement of the altar. Anguillara also built the sumptuous Chapel of St. John the Baptist with finely crafted marble and with a fresco of St. John and the Resurrection in the centre of which is the coat of arms of the family.
Travertine portals were also built that fit wonderfully into the facade of the Church. The engraved Latin inscriptions, due to their extreme simplification, are difficult to interpret.
The Romanesque bell tower was built in 1504 and has two levels of closed mullioned windows and, at the top, three rows of mullioned windows with columns.
The big bell dates from 1343, the smallest from 1504 and are still operating.