This post is also available in: Italian

The church dates back to the tenth century and its construction used Roman remains, as is apparent from the architrave. The building was then restored in 1887.

Inside there is a wooden statue depicting a 12th-century Virgin with Child, Romanesque style with Byzantine influences, with traces of original colour.

The church is home to the Brotherhood of Prayer and Death since 1857 and on the altar there is a machine from the procession of 1897 and a plaster statue of the Madonna of Sorrows from 1942.