The church is very old and it is mentioned in 1028 as a ‘canonical foundation’, a form of church life previous to the Gregorian reform. The church became part of the possessions of the Abbey of Trisulti. In 1379 Urban VI obliged the Carthusians of Trisulti to enlarge the church, which remained tied until 1870. The monastery appointed the parish priest, maintained the church, and in 1725, it oversaw the restructuring .
The building has a unique shape and is different to the architecture of the area: the plan is a Greek cross and the church ends up with an octagonal (tiburio) lantern topped by a lantern. The bell tower has an original cover that recalls oriental stylistic elements while the façade is from the eighteenth-century. Inside there are three altars, one for each aisle, and several paintings, including a Virgin and Child with St. Peter and St. Bruno of 1682 by Caci.