This post is also available in: Italian

The church, originally dedicated to St. Sebastian, dates back at least to the Middle Ages when, near the gates of the city, were built churches dedicated to St. Sebastian to ward off the plague. From the 1400s this protective function was entrusted to San Rocco and, therefore, the town was also dedicated to this French saint.

The church was enlarged in the 1600s and the entrance wall was changed. In place of the original entrance door (visible from outside) the altar of St. Sebastian was erected in front of one of San Rocco, with the statues of the saints.

In 1855, the population was hit by the epidemic of cholera after which the church was restored for Thanksgiving.

Categories:

Top