This post is also available in: Italian

The church is located near Sant’Angelo gate, also known as the Door of the Executioner, and originally it was just dedicated to Sant’Angelo, as reflected by a parchment of 1229. The old church was destroyed by an earthquake in 1350 and was rebuilt in 1753 under the invocation of San Rocco perhaps to invoke protection against the plague. In the church are two works by Pierluigi Conciatori and an ancient relic “ex ossibus San Rochi” of 1712.

Categories:

Top