This post is also available in: Italian

The church of San Rocco is located on the southern outskirts of Piglio, near the old railway station, now abandoned, which connected Rome to Fiuggi. It is a building of ancient origin and was the site of burial of the victims of the plague epidemic in 1656. The Church is made up of three rooms built in different periods. Recently, in the oldest part of the church, during the renovation works, an important and valuable fresco of 1300 came to light. It is probably of the school of Giotto.

Categories:

Top