This post is also available in: Italian

Around 800 all the hills around Rome began to be inhabited by people fleeing the incursions of the Saracens. The first nucleus of San Vito formed around this church and this suggests that before one thousand here there was a rural chapel dedicated to the saint.

The present church dates from 1725 and has a single nave. On the main altar summit the crest of the House of Theodoli (the wheel with five spokes) can be recognised and all the internal structures are eighteenth century.

The church has no bell tower and the only bell present is contained in an elevated roof in the shape of a pyramid.

Categories:

Top