This post is also available in: Italian

The church probably dates from the Middle Ages and was subsequently modified at the end of the fifteenth century when to increase capacity and build the residence of the parish priest, the facade was demolished. Since then the church has had virtually no frontage and only has a smooth plaster wall.

It has a rectangular shape and along the side walls are 12 small shrines carved into the wall and arranged without any symmetry. The church has a fine eighteenth-century wooden coffered ceiling that was taken as a model for that of the Palazzo Venezia in Rome.

The bell tower is built on an old tower and was placed there in the eighteenth century.

The organ dates back to 1750 and was built by the organist Lorenzo Alani of Rome. The organ and the choir were commissioned by the Brotherhood of the SS. Sacrament.

Categories:

Top