The church has a Romanesque style with an ogival vaulted roof, a beautiful exterior portal and a small bell tower. The church dates back to the eleventh century and in a document of 1147 it is reported that the relics of the apostles, SS Peter and Paul were kept inside.
The church has a single nave that ends with a Romanesque altar, a choir and a painting by the artist Monacelli of 1864. In this area you can admire the Madonna of the Seven Veils, a statue of Our Lady that was covered with seven robes and dates back to the eighteenth century.
Among other works there is a Christ-crucified carved on a cross covered with mother-of-pearl, a product of the oriental handicraft of the eighteenth century.
The church was originally frescoed, but only parts of the XII century and some of the 13th and 14th centuries are recognized today.
Below the presbytery there is a crypt, surrounded by large columns, frescoed with two different styles, one that recalls the cathedral of Anagni and one made by 19th-century Roman artists.
The church is home to the Rosary Confraternity that deals with religious celebrations.
The Virgin of the Seven Veils
This Madonna was an object of worship especially by the shepherds, who on the day after the celebration of the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary in October, left for the movement of their flocks from the Roman high countryside. The custody of the statue and the organization of the feast is entrusted to the local Confraternity of the Rosary.
Its name derives from the fact that it was originally adorned with seven garments that were alternated.