This post is also available in: Italian

The first parish of Viticuso was named St. Maria Assunta, which was called “Mother Church”, however, the only archive that would be possible to obtain secure data tap was that of the diocese of Isernia, destroyed by Garibaldi in 1860.

The church was originally built around 1064, but in 1700 appeared completely ‘worn out’ by age and therefore had to be restored completely and then re-consecrated.

Architectural form is that of a Latin cross with a barrel vault, and at the sides of the main nave, there are side chapels.

Categories:

Top