The church was known as Santa Maria de Foris, because it was outside the “Colle” ward and probably had been built by monks. It is cited for the first time in reference to an Abbot Oddone in 1333. The façade is a Romanesque ‘capanna’ with elements of Gothic architecture even though it has been redone several times.
Inside, in 1981, a fresco on the main altar that represents a Madonna and Child was uncovered. The church has a choir, a Baptismal Source and an important oil painting of the Madonna del Buon Consiglio.
In 2006, Louis Severa embellished the Church with a bas-relief on the left of the altar of the Blessed Sacrament representing The Last Supper.
In the church are the statues of St. Anthony of Padua and Santa Rita da Cascia and a bust of San Domenico di Cocullo with relics.