This post is also available in: Italian

The church is located at the foot of the village near the river Rio and owes its name to the discovery of a painting of the Virgin of the fifteenth century. Legend has it that the icon was found by a farmer while ploughing his field.

On the site of the discovery initially a chapel was erected before then being enlarged and transformed into a church in 1636.