This post is also available in: Italian

The eighteenth-century church was built on the site of the original medieval castle in the highest part of the historic town centre. The primitive church of Santa Maria already existed around 1000 and located next to the castle of the Colonna. In 1766, it was decided to demolish the old church to construct a more spacious church. The church was consecrated on 25 May 1784. In 1846, it was restored with the addition of the gilding and the cleaning of the walls.

Inside it has three naves and six side chapels, and there are copies of works by famous painters such as Solimena, Conca and Saracens. There is a beautiful wooden choir and an eighteenth-century organ. The massive bell tower was built on the ‘male’ of the castle and dominates the town.

Categories:

Top