The church was rebuilt in 1928 in the Romanesque style. The primitive building dedicated to Restituita, a 275 AD martyr, stood on the northern side and was built between the ninth and eleventh centuries. The church collapsed in the Dark Ages and was rebuilt and re-dedicated by Pope Adrian IV in 1155.
In 1229 it was set on fire and destroyed by the army of Frederick II and rebuilt after the 1250 according to the instructions in his will. The church had three naves and a crypt and a cloister.
In 1654 the church was destroyed by an earthquake and rebuilt by G.B. Rodoli with a single nave with columns of Corinthian order and a magnificent portal decorated with acanthus leaves and floral garlands.
This church was destroyed by an earthquake in 1915. The new church was built on the eastern side of the square on the ruins of a building of three hundred of which there are a few architectural fragments preserved today in the Civic Museum of Sora.
The current building has three naves with three bronze doors and a façade with a central rose window. The doors were melted and sculpted by Tommaso Gismondi in 1975. In the façade wall is the Privilege of Charles II of Anjou with which the city is declared royal, subject to the Kingdom of Naples and Sicily.
On the same side is walled a fragment of a bas-relief of the Egyptian goddess Isis, covered by nemes (striped headcloth), surmounted by the lunar disc.