The first news of the church is from 1191 and the building is as a single nave with double gable cover: from the medieval and a sixteenth century.
The doors have a sixteenth-century architrave and the side has a St George fresco on the gable.
Above the main altar there is a 19th century wood carving of St. George on horseback killing the dragon, that was made by a South Tyrolean sculptor. Above the altar there is a canvas of St. George perhaps by Joseph Cesari.
Inside there is also a banner painted with tempera on the two facades that depict St George, on the one hand, and San Sebastiano and Sant’Antonio with the child on the other. The banner is from 1907 and was made by G. Gaglia.
The church is home to the Confraternity of St. George from 1854. The cult of St. George is special. The saint was born in 280 AD in Cappadocia and became a member of Diocletian’s guard. While still very young, he was martyred by decapitation in 303 in Lydda, Palestine, for refusing to deny the Christian faith to which he had converted.
His cult soon spread to both the East and the West, becoming a protector of cities and nations, including the patron saint of Vico nel Lazio.
San Giorgio is depicted by various artists as a soldier on horseback in the act of killing the dragon, a symbol of evil.
In Vico nel Lazio, this saint is particularly valued for having saved the country from the British bombing, as bombs fell on the uninhabited hill of St. Nicholas, about 200 meters north of the town.