The church of St John is now in Baroque style, but its origins are medieval. The first building was built on the ancient walls near a city gate. The large vestibule was realized precisely on the remains of an ancient round tower.
During the seventeenth century it was destroyed and the subsequent reconstruction in the Baroque style finished in 1760.
The interior has a single nave and six side chapels and, just above the entrance area, there is an old organ of the seventeenth century made by an artisan company of Affile, a nearby town.
Behind the altar there is a painting that represents “The Baptism of Christ” made in the mid-eighteenth century by Niccolò Dalla Piccola, artist of Pope Clement XIV‘s court.