The church, dating from the thirteenth century has been greatly altered over the centuries. The façade has two steep flights of stairs in limestone, while the interior has a Romanesque layout, consisting of robust pillars and wooden trusses.
Of the original church furnishings remain only two stone holy water fonts and some inscriptions dated XVI and XVII century. Of interest is a statue in paper maché representing St. Francis Xavier.
Currently the church, desecrated by time, is hosting the exhibition-museum “Mem leoniani” of great importance for objects and documents belonging to Leo XIII, such as the sumptuous pontifical robes, some memories of the 1900 Jubilee, and personal belongings of the pope: glasses , sticks, shoes, dishes and manuscripts. Among the most precious things in the pen with which he signed the encyclical “Rerum Novarum” in 1891